Oklahoma Board of Nursing
2915 N. Classen Boulevard Suite 524
Oklahoma City, OK 73106
(405) 962-1800
www.nursing.ok.gov

INSTRUCTIONS
for LICENSURE by ENDORSEMENT
of NURSES EDUCATED OUTSIDE the UNITED STATES

Application Fee - $125.00 (Endorsement $85.00 + Education Equivalence Evaluation $40.00)
If a temporary license is requested — Add $10.00

Per 59 O.S. § 4100.8, if you are active duty military personnel or the spouse of an active duty
military personnel who has received orders or notice for military transfer or honorable
discharge to this state, there is NO fee required to submit this application. Please see the
“Military Personnel” section for more information.

Use this application if you:
e Were originally educated in and graduated from a nursing program in a country
outside the United States and U.S. territories; and
e Were originally licensed in a country outside the United States and U.S. territories;
and
e Have not previously held a license (at the same level) in Oklahoma; and
e Want to endorse your license into Oklahoma as a single-state license.

Please note that an applicant educated in a U.S. territory not recognized as a full member of
National Council of State Boards of Nursing (NCSBN) must meet the requirements for applicants
educated in foreign countries. An applicant educated in a U.S. territory that is a full member of
NCSBN but in a nursing education program not included on the NCSBN state-approved programs
of nursing list at the time of the applicant’s graduation from the program must meet the
requirements for applicants educated in foreign countries.

You are submitting an application for a single-state Oklahoma license. A single-state Oklahoma
license will allow you to practice nursing in Oklahoma only. To apply for a multistate license,
you must submit the Application for Multistate Licensure by Endorsement for Nurses Educated
Outside the United States.

PLEASE READ THESE INSTRUCTIONS CAREFULLY
BEFORE COMPLETING THE APPLICATION.

APPLICATIONS ARE AVAILABLE FOR SUBMISSION ONLINE THROUGH
https://pay.apps.ok.gov/nursing/licensing/app/index.php.
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A paper copy may be requested by the individual applicant by submitting a written request for
such to the Board office. The applicant must include a postage-paid ($1.06 postage cost) 8 2 x 11
inch return envelope for Board staff to return an application.

Forms referenced can be found in the Forms / Applications link on the Board’s website.

REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSURE IN OKLAHOMA

Age: The applicant for licensure must be a minimum of eighteen (18) years of age.

Verification of citizenship status: State law requires the Board of Nursing to issue a license only
to U.S. citizens, nationals and legal permanent resident aliens; and to qualified alien applicants
who present, in person, valid documentary evidence of:

A valid, unexpired immigrant or nonimmigrant visa status for admission into the U.S.;

A pending or approved application for asylum in the U.S.;

Admission into the U.S. in refugee status;

A pending or approved application for temporary protected status in the U.S.;

Approved deferred action status; or

A pending application for adjustment of status to legal permanent residence status or
conditional resident status.

ogakrwdE

Applicants in the above six categories will only be eligible to receive a license card that is valid
for the time period of their authorized stay in the U.S., or if there is no date of end to the time
period of their authorized stay, for one year. The license card is required to indicate that it is
temporary. The information will be verified through the Systematic Alien Verification for
Entitlements (SAVE) Program, operated by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security.

Graduation from a government-approved program of registered or practical nursing: You
must be a graduate of a government-approved post-secondary program of registered or practical
nursing, as verified by the Commission on Graduates of Foreign Nursing Schools (CGFNS)*. A
translated transcript from the nursing education program with certified proof of translation must
be provided by CGFENS or directly from the nursing education program. The nursing education
program you attended must have included theory and clinical experience in the following
areas:

e Care of the adult

e Care of children

e Maternal-newborn nursing

e Psychiatric-mental health nursing (Exception: psychiatric clinical experience is not

required for practical nurse applicants)

An evaluation of educational requirements must be conducted by CGFNS*. You may make
arrangements to have either of the following credentials presented directly to the Oklahoma Board
of Nursing from CGENS:
a. A Credentials Evaluation Service Professional Report completed by the
Credentialing Evaluation Service of CGFNS, or
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b. A verification of your CGFNS Certificate or VisaScreen Certificate AND
validation of your nursing education and professional registration/licensure (e Das
report).

If you have previously obtained a Healthcare Profession and Science Course by Course Report
from the Credentialing Evaluation Service of CGFNS, and that report is still available for release
by CGFNS, you may request that CGFNS provide a copy of that report directly to the Oklahoma
Board of Nursing.

Please see the Instructions section below for further information on obtaining the necessary
documents from CGFNS.
e Reports received from CGFNS must have been completed within the five (5) years
immediately preceding the date of application for licensure by endorsement.
e The five-year requirement is waived if the applicant holds a license in another state.

*The requirement for verification by CGFNS is waived for applicants currently licensed in another
state when the state validates that the credential review report was prepared by an independent
credentials review agency.

Completion of the licensure examination: In order to be eligible for licensure by endorsement,
the Registered Nurse must be licensed by exam as follows:

a. After February 1, 1989: by achieving a score of “PASSED” on the National
Council Licensure Examination (NCLEX-RN), OR

b. Between July 1, 1982, and February 1, 1989: by passing the NCLEX-RN with a
score of at least 1600, OR

C. Between January 1, 1952, and July 1, 1982: by passing the State Board Test Pool
Examination (SBTPE) for registered nurse licensure in medical nursing, surgical
nursing, obstetrical nursing, nursing of children and psychiatric nursing with a score
of 350 or more in each subject,

d. Canadian nurses originally licensed by exam in the following provinces in the years
indicated: Alberta 1952-70; British Columbia 1949-70; Manitoba 1955-70;
Newfoundland 1961-70; Nova Scotia 1955-70; Prince Edward Island 1956-70;
Quebec (English language) 1959-70; and Saskatchewan 1956-70.

RN licensure by the following exams is_not recognized: New Mexico 1974; Puerto Rico prior to
1976 or after August, 2006; Puerto Rico-Spanish language version exam any year; Alaska prior to
1954; Virgin Islands prior to 1964; Guam prior to 1969; any state constructed examination; any
foreign exam.
e Any nurse originally licensed by any of these exams must write and pass the licensing
examination adopted by the Oklahoma Board of Nursing.

In order to be eligible for licensure by endorsement, the Licensed Practical Nurse must be licensed
by exam as follows:

a. LPNs who were licensed between July 1, 1954, and October 1, 1988, must have

passed the examination adopted by the Board for practical nurse licensure achieving

a standard score of 350 on either the State Board Test Pool Examination (SBTPE)
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for licensed practical nurse licensure or the National Council Licensure
Examination (NCLEX-PN).

b. LPNs licensed since October 1, 1988, must have achieved a score of “PASSED”
on the NCLEX-PN.

LPN licensure by the following exams is not recognized: California- May 1974 through

September 1986; Texas prior to 1969; Puerto Rico prior to 1976 or after August 1, 2006; Puerto
Rico-Spanish language version exam any year; any foreign exam.

e Any nurse originally licensed by any of these exams must write and pass the licensing
examination adopted by the Oklahoma Board of Nursing.

Verification of licensure in the country in which you graduated: You must hold a license or
registration as required in the country in which you graduated from your nursing education
program. Licensure or registration must be verified in the form of an official verification received
directly from the Commission on Graduates of Foreign Nursing Schools (CGFNS - see
instructions for contact information)*.

e If you are also licensed in another U.S. state or territory, your licensure status must also be
verified by Nursys, if the state participates in Nursys, or from the Board in the state in
which you were originally licensed.

e If disciplinary action has been taken, approval of the Board may be required.

Submission of evidence of continuing qualifications for practice: You must submit evidence
of continued qualifications for practice through completion of one of the following requirements
within the last five (5) years prior to receipt of the application in the Board office:
a. Submission of an official transcript or certificate of completion verifying
completion of a nurse refresher course approved by the Board (see list of approved
refresher courses on website: www.nursing.ok.gov/nrefresher.pdf) or

b. Successfully passing the National Council Licensure Examination for Registered
or Practical Nurses; or
C. Cause submission of an official transcript, provided by an entity approved and

recognized by the U.S. Department of Education as a primary source for providing
education transcripts, verifying successful completion of at least six academic
semester credit hours (or 105 contact hours) of nursing courses which include
classroom and clinical instruction; or

d. Present an Employment Verification Form and an accompanying job description
that provides evidence of licensure in another state, territory or country and
employment in a position requiring nursing licensure with verification of at least
520 work hours during the past five (5) years. This form must be submitted
directly to the Board from the employer.

e. Submit evidence of completing at least 24 contact hours of continuing education
applicable to nursing practice; or
f. Submit current certification in a nursing specialty area.

Applicants for endorsement who took the NCLEX examination for initial licensure within
the last two years must:

Form RS-05 4 11/01/2019


http://www.nursing.ok.gov/nrefresher.pdf

a. provide evidence of completion of the nursing education program within two years
of initial application for licensure by examination; or

b. provide verification through an Employment Verification Form or at least six
months work experience in the state, U.S. territory, or country of licensure; or

C. Successfully complete a Board-approved refresher course in accordance with the
Board’s policy; or

d. successfully complete nursing didactic coursework and faculty-supervised clinical

experience in a board-approved nursing education program at the appropriate
educational level, to include at least 80 hours in classroom and skills laboratory
review and at least 80 hours participating in patient care activities in the clinical
setting.

Verification of English language competence: All foreign-educated applicants must submit
verification of English language competence, with the exception of:

a. graduates of nursing education programs taught in English in Australia, Canada
(except Quebec), Ireland, New Zealand, the United Kingdom, Trinidad, Tobago,
Jamaica, Barbados, South Africa and the United States,

b. applicants who are licensed in another U.S. state or territory.

An original official copy of the scores must be received directly from the testing service or from
CGENS.

Verification of English language competence includes the following:

a. Passing scores for Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL-iBT), offered
by the Educational Testing Service; or

b. Passing scores for Test of English for International Communication (TOEIC), to
include the Listening and Reading Test and the Speaking and Writing Test, offered
by the Educational Testing Service; or

C. Passing scores for International English Language Testing System (IELTS); or

d. Passing scores for the Michigan English Language Assessment Battery (MELAB)

Passing Scores Established for English Language Competency Testing:

TEST RN LP
TOEIC
Listening and Reading 725 700
Speaking and Writing 140 140
IELTS 6.5 6.0
(academic format) (general training format)
7.0 7.0
(spoken band) (spoken band)
TOEFL-iBT 26 Speaking 26 Speaking
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83 Total 79 Total

MELAB 3 Speaking 3 Speaking
81 Total 81 Total

Review of criminal charges, disciplinary action, or judicial declaration of incompetence:
Effective January 1, 2013, state law (59 O.S. § 567.18.B.) requires each applicant for licensure to
have a fingerprint-based background check submitted no more than ninety (90) days before
submission of the application for licensure. The background check consists of fingerprint-based
searches of the Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation (OSBI) and Federal Bureau of
Investigation (FBI) Criminal History Record Information databases and name index searches of
computerized databases containing criminal history records. Please see the “Instructions” section
for further information on obtaining a fingerprint-based background check. Please read the Privacy
Act Statement and Applicant Notification found in the Appendix to this set of instructions.

In addition to the background check, applicants for licensure who have ever been summoned,
arrested, taken into custody, indicted, convicted or tried for, or charged with, or pleaded guilty to,
the violation of any law or ordinance or the commission of any misdemeanor or felony, or
requested to appear before any prosecuting attorney or investigative agency in any matter; or have
ever had disciplinary action taken against a nursing license, certification or registration, any
professional or occupational license, registration, or certification and/or any application for a
nursing or professional or occupational license, registration, or certification or if there is currently
any investigation of your nursing license, registration, or certification; and/or any professional or
occupational license, registration, or certification; and/or any application for a nursing and/or
professional or occupational license, registration, or certification in any state, territory or country,
or have ever been judicially declared incompetent are required to notify the Oklahoma Board of
Nursing in writing. A “report in writing” means that the applicant/licensee provides a signed and
dated description stating in his/her own words the date, location, and circumstances of the incident,
and if applicable, the resulting action taken by the court, agency, or disciplinary board. The report
may be in the form of a letter or a statement in the provided space on the application. The report
must be accompanied by certified court records or a board order. A verbal report does not
constitute a “report in writing”. A written report not accompanied by a full set of certified court
records or the board order(s) does not constitute a “report in writing”. Failure to report such action
is a violation of the Oklahoma Nursing Practice Act.

An applicant for a license to practice as a Registered Nurse or Licensed Practical Nurse must
submit to the Oklahoma Board of Nursing “certified written evidence that the applicant has never
been convicted of a felony crime that substantially relates to the occupation of nursing and poses
a reasonable threat to public safety” [59 O.S. § § 567.5, 567.6].

Military Personnel:

Per 59 O.S. § 4100.8, if you are an active duty military personnel or the spouse of an active duty
military personnel who has received orders or notice for military transfer or honorable discharge
to this state, please provide to the Board’s office a copy of the United States Uniformed Services
Identification and Privilege Card and a copy of the military member’s Permanent Change of
Station (PCS) orders. No application fee is required. Following confirmation that you hold a valid
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license in another state that is in good standing and reasonably equivalent to the requirements of
this state, a temporary license will be granted within 30 days.

If you are relocating to this state pursuant to your spouse’s official military orders and you have
not worked 520 or more hours in a licensed position in a state in which you were actively licensed
within the past five years, state law [O.S. 59 § 567.11.8] allows you to practice nursing in the state
of Oklahoma for one hundred twenty days (120) after submission of an application and fees for
licensure to the Board, provided that you:

e have an active, unencumbered license from another state or territory;

e have no health-related license in a disciplinary status; and

e furnish to the employer satisfactory evidence of current, unencumbered licensure in

another state or territory.

If this applies to you, please provide a copy of your nursing license card from another state or
territory and a copy of your spouse’s official military orders with your application.

INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETION OF THE APPLICATION

1. Completion of application: The application should be completed and submitted online on
the Board’s website: https://pay.apps.ok.gov/nursing/licensing/app/index.php. You
must complete all modules of the application with your full legal name which is the name
on your birth certificate and any subsequent legal name changes. Please indicate “NMN”
if you do not have a middle name. You must provide a Social Security number on the
application. This information is mandatory, pursuant to 56 O.S. § 240.21A, for
administration of the tax laws of the State of Oklahoma.

If you are submitting a hard copy application, you may NOT use correction fluid on the
application. When you are finished entering your information, attach your signed and
dated photograph, and sign the application LEGIBLY, using your full legal name.

The Board’s newsletters are now provided by electronic mail, so it is recommended you
provide an e-mail address on the application.

2. Citizenship: All applicants for licensure must complete the appropriate Evidence of Status
Form.

If you are a U.S. citizen, U.S. national, or legal permanent resident alien, you must submit
a photocopy of one of the documents listed under “Primary Evidence of Citizenship” on
the Evidence of Status Form: Part A.

According to State law, if you are a qualified alien, you must bring in person the
Evidence of Status form to the Oklahoma Board of Nursing office along with the original
documents that support your qualified alien status, as shown on the Evidence of Status Part
B Form. At the Board office, a staff member will copy your qualified alien status
documentation and will notarize the Evidence of Status Form.
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3. Background Check: Each applicant must provide fingerprint images to be used for the
purpose of permitting a state and national criminal history records search through the OSBI
and FBI. The criminal history records search must be conducted through the Board’s
vendor, Idemia, no more than ninety (90) days prior to receipt of the application in the
Board office. The results of the search are provided directly to the Board office by the
OSBI usually within one to two weeks. Please read the Privacy Act Statement and
Applicant Notification found in the Appendix to this set of instructions. Procedures for
changing, correcting or updating OSBI and / or FBI results are set forth in Title 28, C.F.R.,
816.34 and will be furnished as needed.

Option 1: If you have an Oklahoma mailing address, you will need to go to an
IdentoGo center sponsored by Idemia located within the state to provide
fingerprints electronically. These sites are available by appointment only. You must
visit the following website to schedule an appointment: www.identogo.com, or you
must call (877) 219-0197 to make an appointment. Payment can be made during
your appointment or online when scheduling. Please note that your fingerprints
must be obtained electronically only at an IdentoGO center sponsored by
Idemia.

Option 2: If you have an out-of-state mailing address, Board staff will mail you
specific fingerprint cards that you must take to a local law enforcement agency to
obtain the fingerprints. Please note that you must wait to receive the specific
coded fingerprint cards from the Board office prior to obtaining your
fingerprints. An addressed envelope will be provided as the fingerprint cards
must be mailed by the law enforcement agency directly to an 1dentoGO center
sponsored by Idemia. You are responsible for the postage and the costs associated
with obtaining your fingerprints; OR If you are in Oklahoma, you may follow the
instructions for Option 1 above.

4. Criminal Charges, Disciplinary Action, or Judicial Declaration of Mental
Incompetence: If you answer “yes” to the criminal charge, discipline, or competency
questions on the application, you must submit a statement on the application form,
describing the date, location and circumstances of the incident, and the resulting
action taken by the court or disciplinary board. If you have more than one incident you
are reporting, you must speak to every case/charge that has been filed.

Question #1 in the section on History of Criminal Charges, Disciplinary Action, or Mental
Incompetence in the application addresses a history of being summoned, arrested, taken
into custody, indicted, convicted or tried for, or charged with, or pleaded guilty to, the
violation of any law or ordinance or the commission of any misdemeanor or felony, or been
requested to appear before any prosecuting attorney or investigative agency in any matter.
If you answer “yes” to question #1 in this section, you must submit certified copies of the:

0 Information Sheet, Incident Report, Complaint, and/or Charges (brief
summary of the incident prepared by the court)

0 Affidavit of Probable Cause (listing of the charges brought against you)

0 Judgment and/or Sentence (findings of the court and sentence imposed)
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0 Verification that Judgment and/or Sentence requirements are
complete

Certified copies are copies of court records obtained from the courthouse in the county/city
where the action occurred, dated and signed by the court clerk, and affixed with the court
seal. You may obtain these documents from the courthouse in the county/city or in the
federal court of the district in which the court action occurred. The Board staff will not
accept Internet court documents, such as Oklahoma Court Information System case
reports. Please note that you must report all arrests and/or charges that have been
brought against you.

If no records are found, have the agency provide a certified letter stating no records were
found in a search from the date of offense through current.

Question #2 in the section on History of Criminal Charges, Disciplinary Action, or Mental
Incompetence in the application addresses a history of disciplinary action taken against a
nursing license, certification or registration; any professional or occupational license,
registration, or certification; and/or any application for a nursing or professional or
occupational license, registration, or certification. If you answer “yes” to question #2 in
this section, please request that a certified copy of the Board order be submitted directly to
the Board office from the licensing agency.

Question #4 in the section on History of Criminal Charges, Disciplinary Action, or Mental
Incompetence in the application addresses a history of having been judicially declared
mentally incompetent. If you answer “yes” to question #4 in this section, please provide a
certified copy of the Court Order(s).

5. Fee: You may pay the application fee online, using a VISA, MasterCard or electronic fund
transfer when completing the application online in the License Registration link. If you
submit a hard copy application, attach to your application the appropriate fee payable by
cashier’s check, money order, or personal check. If the fee is not submitted with the
application or if the fee is incorrect, the application will be immediately returned without
review. Fees submitted are not refundable. If you meet either military personnel options
listed in the Military Personnel section above, a fee is not required.

6. CGFNS credentials evaluation or certification: Contact the Commission on Graduates of
Foreign Nursing Schools to apply for a Credentials Evaluation Service Professional
Report. If you hold a CGFNS Certificate or VisaScreen Certificate, you may instead
request that CGFNS forward a copy of your certificate; verification of your nursing
education and professional registration/licensure (eDAS report); and English language test
scores, if applicable. If you have previously obtained a Healthcare Profession and Science
Course by Course Report from the Credentialing Evaluation Service of CGFNS, and that
report is still available for release by CGFNS, you may request that CGFNS provide a copy
of that report directly to the Oklahoma Board of Nursing.

The contact information for CGFNS is as follows:

Commission on Graduates of Foreign Nursing Schools
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3600 Market Street, Suite 400
Philadelphia, PA 19104-2665
(215) 349-8767
www.cgfns.org

The requirement for verification by CGFNS is waived for applicants currently licensed in
another state when the state validates that the credential review report was prepared by an
independent credentials review agency

7.

Temporary License: To request a temporary license which is valid for 90 days, submit the
application online for endorsement with a request for a temporary license. If submitting a
hard copy application, check “Y” on the first page of the Application for Licensure by
Endorsement and submit the temporary license fee with your application fee.

Requirements for a temporary license include:

a. A completed application form;

b. Fee for endorsement and for the temporary license;

C. Proof of current unrestricted licensure in another state, territory or country with no
history of arrest or disciplinary action requiring further review;

d. Verification of licensure, completion of a board-approved nursing education

program meeting the educational standards established by the Oklahoma Board of
Nursing and degree received, and passing the licensure examination, received from
your original state of licensure;

e. Demonstrating evidence of meeting continued qualifications for practice within the
last two (2) years prior to receipt of the completed application;

f. Receipt of completed CGFNS report and transcripts that verify eligibility for
licensure;

g. Receipt of passing English language testing scores, if required for licensure; and

h. Submission of fingerprint images to be used for the purpose of permitting a state

and national criminal background search.

A temporary license will not be issued to anyone who has had a history of arrest, criminal
charges, adjudication of incompetence, or disciplinary action, or who will be required to
take the NCLEX exam or meet additional requirements for continuing qualifications for
practice prior to licensure in Oklahoma. A temporary license will not be issued if the
application is complete.

Name Change: If you currently hold a license in another state or country that is not in your
current name, submit a copy of a legal document indicating the change of name (such as a
copy of a marriage license, divorce decree, or court order).

Interstate Verification: Verification of licensure status, completion of a board-approved
nursing program, degree received and date of conferral, and completion of the licensure
examination from your original state of licensure are required. This verification must come
in written form directly from the Board of Nursing in the original state of licensure or from
the NURSY'S system at the National Council of State Boards of Nursing. Please note that
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10.

each state or Nursys will charge a fee for this verification. Contact your state of original
licensure or log on to www.nursys.com for information on the procedure and fees.

e If your original state of licensure is not listed on the NURSY S site, you must contact
your original state directly.

e If your state does not fully verify your nursing education, the Board will request
that an official transcript be submitted to this office directly from the nursing
program.

o To prevent possible delays, you may wish to request a transcript be sent
from the nursing program directly to the Board office.

Verification of continuing qualifications for practice: If you have already taken the
NCLEX examination and have worked at the same level of licensure for which you are
applying for a minimum of 520 hours in the last five years, please request that your
employer submit an Employment Verification Form and job description. Each employer
providing verification must complete and submit a separate Form.

e Please note that this Form must be completed and signed by an
administrator/supervisor at the place of employment, or by an authorized
individual in the Human Resources Department and submitted directly to the
Board.

If you have not practiced as a licensed nurse for at least 520 hours in the last five years
prior to applying for licensure by endorsement, an official transcript or certificate of
completion for a refresher course approved by the Oklahoma Board of Nursing or an
official transcript documenting hours earned in a board-approved nursing education
program must be sent directly to this Board from the program. A list of Board-approved
refresher courses is available on the Board’s website: www.nursing.ok.gov.

If you have not worked, completed a board-approved refresher course, or completed hours
in a nursing education program, you may submit evidence of completion of at least 24
contact hours of continuing education applicable to nursing practice, submit verification of
current certification in a nursing specialty OR please note on the application that you wish
to re-take the NCLEX examination to establish continuing qualifications for practice.
Board staff will then assist you with registration for the NCLEX examination.

If you took the NCLEX within the last two years, your state of original licensure must
provide evidence that you graduated from your nursing education program within the two
years prior to taking the NCLEX. Otherwise, you must provide evidence of at least six
months of work experience as a licensed nurse in the state, US territory or country of
licensure at the level of licensure for which you are applying, or evidence of successful
completion of a Board-approved refresher course in accordance with the Board’s policy or
nursing didactic coursework and faculty-supervised clinical experience in a board-
approved nursing education program at the appropriate educational level, to include at least
80 hours in classroom and skills laboratory review and at least 80 hours participating in
patient care activities in the clinical setting.
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GENERAL INFORMATION

The Oklahoma Nursing Practice Act requires you to obtain a dated Oklahoma temporary license
or valid Oklahoma license prior to employment in nursing in Oklahoma. This requirement does
not apply to nurses practicing in certain federal facilities (contact the federal facility regarding its
requirements for licensure.)
You must obtain a temporary/permanent license before orienting or working
in a position requiring a nursing license.

Issuance of a temporary license does not guarantee you will qualify for permanent licensure in
Oklahoma.

You may view average processing times of a completed application on the Board’s website in the
Agency Data / Statistics / Quarterly Statistics link. All applications are reviewed in the order in
which they are received. Repeated telephone calls to check on the status of your application will
delay, rather than facilitate, the processing of your application.

Your Application for Licensure by Endorsement is valid for one year from the date it is received
in the Board office. All requirements must be met within that year; otherwise, a new application
and fee must be submitted.

Once licensed, the License Verification link on the Board’s website will be the first place your
new license will be noted.

Registered Nurse licenses expire the last day of the licensee’s birth month in even-numbered years,
and Licensed Practical Nurse licenses expire the last day of the licensee’s birth month in odd-
numbered years following the date of issuance. The application fee includes the processing of your
application and licensure through the current renewal period. Fees are not pro-rated and are
non-refundable.

If you are an Advanced Practice Registered Nurse (Certified Nurse Practitioner-CNP; Clinical
Nurse Specialist-CNS; Certified Nurse Midwife-CNM; or Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist-
CRNA), you may not practice in Oklahoma as an Advanced Practice Registered Nurse until
you have a current Oklahoma license to practice registered nursing and a license to practice
as an Advanced Practice Registered Nurse. To obtain an application for licensure as an
Advanced Practice Registered Nurse you may access the Board website: www.nursing.ok.gov,
and click on “License Registration”.

In accordance with Oklahoma law (59 O.S. 8 567.7.E), the Executive Director shall suspend the
license or certificate of a person who submits a check, money draft, or similar instrument for
payment of a fee which is not honored by the financial institution named. The suspension becomes
effective ten (10) days following delivery by certified mail of written notice of the dishonor and
the impending suspension to the person’s address on file. Upon notification of suspension, the
person may reinstate the authorization to practice upon payment of the fees and any and all costs
associated with notice and collection. The suspension shall be exempt from the Administrative
Procedures Act.

Form RS-05 12 11/01/2019



http://www.ok.gov/nursing

COMMON MISTAKES THAT DELAY APPLICATION PROCESSING

>

Leaving application questions incomplete or unanswered, or using correction fluid on
the application

Not providing a Social Security number

Failing to provide the full legal name (with the notation “NMN” if there is no middle
name)

Failing to provide license or certificate numbers for all licenses held

Failing to request that all required CGFNS documentation be submitted directly to
the Board office by CGFNS or verification of a credentials review from an
independent credentials review agency from the state of original licensure, be
submitted directly to the Board office

Failing to request that official English language test scores be submitted directly to
the Board office by the testing service, if English language testing is required or
verification of a credentials review from an independent credentials review agency
from the state of original licensure, be submitted directly to the Board office

Failing to submit fingerprint images to be used for the purpose of permitting a state
and national criminal background search no more than 90 days prior to receipt of the
application in the Board office

Failing to request the Employment Verification Form be submitted directly from your
employer to verify 520 hours work experience in the past five years as needed

Failing to submit an Evidence of Status Form and supporting documentation

Failing to provide a complete description and documentation regarding a history of
criminal charges, disciplinary action, or judicial declaration of incompetence
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Appendix

Privacy Act Statement and Applicant Notification

Authority: The FBI's acquisition, preservation, and exchange of fingerprints and associated
information is generally authorized under 28 U.S.C. 534. Depending on the nature of your
application, supplemental authorities include Federal statutes, State statutes pursuant to
Public Law 92-544, Presidential Executive Orders, and federal regulations. Providing your
fingerprints and associated information is voluntary; however, failure to do so may affect
completion or approval of your application.

Principal Purpose: Certain determinations, such as employment, licensing, and security
clearances, may be predicated on fingerprint-based background checks. Your fingerprints
and associated information/biometrics may be provided to the employing, investigating, or
otherwise responsible agency, and/or the FBI for the purpose of comparing your fingerprints
to other fingerprints in the FBI's Next Generation Identification (NGI) system or its
successor systems (including civil, criminal, and latent fingerprint repositories) or other
available records of the employing, investigating, or other responsible agency. The FBI may
retain your fingerprints and associated information/biometrics in NGI after the completion of
this application and, while retained, your fingerprints may continue to be compared against
other fingerprints submitted to or retained by NGI.

Routine Uses: During the processing of this application and for as long thereafter as your
fingerprints and associated information/biometrics are retained in NGlI, your information may
be disclosed pursuant to your consent, and may be disclosed without your consent as
permitted by the Privacy Act of 1974 and all applicable Routine Uses as may be published
at any time in the Federal Register, including the Routine Uses for the NGI system and the
FBI's Blanket Routine Uses. Routine uses include, but are not limited to, disclosures to:
employing, governmental or authorized non-governmental agencies responsible for
employment, contracting, licensing, security clearances, and other suitability
determinations; local, state, tribal, or federal law enforcement agencies; criminal justice
agencies; and agencies responsible for national security or public safety.

Applicant Record Challenge

Applicant Record Challenge: Before a final decision is made, you have the opportunity to
complete or challenge the accuracy of the information contained in the FBI identification
record. The procedure for obtaining a change, correction, or updating an FBI identification
record is set forth in Title 28, CFR 16.34. For information on updating the national criminal
history record, visit www.FBI.gov or https://www.fbi.gov/cjis/identity-history-summary-
checks#challenge-of-an-identity-history-summary.

If certified documents are obtained for the purpose of updating your criminal history record,
the documents should be forwarded to the FBI and to the repository in the state where the
arrest occurred.
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