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Oklahoma Board of Nursing 

2915 North Classen Boulevard, Suite 524 

Oklahoma City, Oklahoma 73106 

(405) 962-1800 

www.ok.gov/nursing 

 

INSTRUCTIONS for RE-WRITING the LICENSURE EXAMINATION  
 

APPLICATION FEE - $85.00 

 

Use this application if you: 

 Are not licensed at the same level in another state, U.S. territory, or country; and 

 Were educated in a nursing program approved by a member board jurisdiction in the United 

States or U.S. territory; and 

 Have not previously held a license (at the same level) in Oklahoma; and 

 Have previously taken the licensure examination for initial licensure in Oklahoma and were 

unsuccessful. 

 

PLEASE READ INSTRUCTIONS CAREFULLY  

BEFORE COMPLETING THE APPLICATION. 

 

In addition to completing the application form, you will need to complete an NCLEX registration which can be 

completed on the NCLEX website:  www.vue.com/nclex.   

 

APPLICATIONS ARE AVAILABLE FOR SUBMISSION ONLINE THROUGH 

https://www.ok.gov/nursing/licensing/app/index.php.   

A paper copy may be requested by the individual applicant by submitting a written request for such to the Board 

office.  The applicant must include a postage-paid ($1.06 postage cost) 8 ½ x 11 inch return envelope for Board 

staff to return an application. 

 

 Forms referenced can be found in the Forms / Applications link on the Board’s website. 

 

REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSURE IN OKLAHOMA 
 

Age:  The applicant for licensure must be a minimum of eighteen (18) years of age. 

 

Verification of citizenship status:  State law requires the Board of Nursing to issue a license only to U.S. 

citizens, nationals and legal permanent resident aliens; and to qualified alien applicants who present, in person, 

valid documentary evidence of: 

1. A valid, unexpired immigrant  or nonimmigrant visa status for admission into the U.S.; 

2. A pending or approved application for asylum in the U.S.; 

3. Admission into the U.S. in refugee status; 

4. A pending or approved application for temporary protected status in the U.S.; 

5. Approved deferred action status; or 

6. A pending application for adjustment of status to legal permanent residence status or conditional resident 

status. 

 

Applicants in the above six categories will only be eligible to receive a license card that is valid for the time 

http://www.ok.gov/nursing
https://www.ok.gov/nursing/licensing/app/index.php
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period of their authorized stay in the U.S., or if there is no date of end to the time period of their authorized stay, 

for one year.  The license card is required to indicate that it is temporary.  The information will be verified 

through the Systematic Alien Verification for Entitlements (SAVE) Program, operated by the U.S. Department 

of Homeland Security. 

 

Graduation from a state Board-approved program of registered or practical nursing:  You must be a 

graduate of a state Board-approved program of registered or practical nursing.  An official transcript from 

the nursing education program must be submitted directly from the nursing education program.  The nursing 

education program you attended must have included theory and clinical experience in the following areas: 

 Care of the adult 

 Care of children 

 Maternal-newborn nursing 

 Psychiatric-mental health nursing (Exception:  psychiatric clinical experience is not required for 

practical nurse applicants) 

 

Completion of the licensure examination:  Once all other requirements for licensure have been met, you will 

be made eligible to take the NCLEX-RN or NCLEX-PN licensure examination.  In order to be made eligible, 

you must have registered with the testing service (www.vue.com/nclex). 

 

Review of criminal history:  Effective January 1, 2013, state law (59 O.S. § 567.18.B.) requires each applicant 

for licensure to have a fingerprint-based background check not more than ninety (90) days old at the time of 

submission of the application for licensure.  The background check consists of fingerprint-based searches of the 

Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation (OSBI) and Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) Criminal History 

Record Information databases and name index searches of computerized databases containing criminal history 

records.  Please see the “Instructions” section for further information on obtaining a fingerprint-based 

background check. 

 

In addition to the background check, applicants for licensure who have ever been summoned, arrested, taken 

into custody, indicted, convicted or tried for, or charged with, or pleaded guilty to, the violation of any law or 

ordinance or the commission of any misdemeanor or felony, or requested to appear before any prosecuting 

attorney or investigative agency in any matter; or have ever had disciplinary action taken against a nursing 

license, certification or registration, any professional or occupational license, registration, or certification and/or 

any application for a nursing or professional or occupational license, registration, or certification or if there is 

currently any investigation of your nursing license, registration, or certification; and/or any professional or 

occupational license, registration, or certification; and/or any application for a nursing and/or professional or 

occupational license, registration, or certification in any state, territory or country, or have ever been judicially 

declared incompetent are required to notify the Oklahoma Board of Nursing if the incident has not previously 

been reported in writing to the Board.  A “report in writing” means that the applicant/licensee provided a signed 

and dated description stating in his/her own words the date, location, and circumstances of the incident, and if 

applicable, the resulting action taken by the court, agency, or disciplinary board.  The report may be in the form 

of a letter or a statement in the provided space on the application.  The report must be accompanied by certified 

court records or a board order.  A verbal report does not constitute a “report in writing”.  A written report not 

accompanied by a full set of certified court records or the board order(s) does not constitute a “report in 

writing”.  Failure to report such action is a violation of the Oklahoma Nursing Practice Act.   

 

An applicant for a license to practice as a registered nurse or licensed practical nurse must submit to the 

Oklahoma Board of Nursing “certified written evidence that the applicant has never been convicted in this state, 

the United States or another state of any felony, unless five (5) years have elapsed since the date of the criminal 

conviction or the termination of any probation or other requirements imposed on the applicant by the sentencing 

court, whichever shall last occur, or a presidential or gubernatorial pardon for the criminal offense has been 

Drafts/Rules%20082715/www.vue.com/nclex
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received” [59 O.S. §567.5].  Therefore, applicants for licensure in Oklahoma with one or more felony 

convictions cannot apply for licensure for at least five years after completion of all sentencing terms, 

including probation and suspended sentences, unless a presidential or gubernatorial pardon is received.     

 

INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETION OF THE APPLICATION 
 

1. Completion of application:  The application should be completed and submitted online on the Board’s 

website:  https://www.ok.gov/nursing/licensing/app/index.php. You must complete all modules of the 

application with your full legal name which is the name on your birth certificate and any subsequent 

legal name changes.  Please indicate “NMN” if you do not have a middle name.  You must provide a 

Social Security number on the application.  This information is mandatory, pursuant to 56 O.S. § 

240.21A, for administration of the tax laws of the State of Oklahoma.   

 

If you are submitting a hard copy application, you may NOT use correction fluid on the application.  

When you are finished entering your information, sign the application LEGIBLY, using your full legal 

name. 

 

 The Board’s newsletters are now provided by electronic mail, so it is recommended you provide 

an e-mail address on the application. 

 

2. Citizenship:  All applicants for licensure must complete the appropriate Evidence of Status Form.  If you 

previously applied prior to November 1, 2007, and did not complete an Evidence of Status Form, you 

must complete this Form.  If you previously submitted an Evidence of Status Form, you will not need to 

submit it again with this application.    

 

If you are a U.S. citizen, U.S. national, or legal permanent resident alien, you must submit a photocopy 

of one of the documents listed under “Acceptable Documents to Establish Evidence of Citizenship” on 

the Evidence of Status Part A Form unless previously submitted.   

 

According to State law, if you are a qualified alien, you must bring in person the Evidence of Status  

Form to the Board office along with the original documents that support your qualified alien status, as  

shown on the Evidence of Status Part B Form.  At the Board office, a staff member will copy your  

qualified alien status documentation and will notarize the Evidence of Status Form. 

 

3. Criminal History Search:  Each applicant must provide fingerprint images to be used for the purpose of 

permitting a state and national criminal history records search through the OSBI and FBI.  The criminal 

history records search must be conducted through the Board’s vendor, L-1 (MorphoTrust) within ninety 

(90) days of receipt of the application in the Board office.  The results of the search are provided directly 

to the Board office by the OSBI usually within one to two weeks.  Procedures for changing, correcting or 

updating OSBI and / or FBI results are set forth in Title 28, C.F.R., § 16.34 and will be furnished as 

needed. 

 

 Option 1:  If you have an Oklahoma mailing address, you will need to go to an IdentoGo center 

sponsored by L-1 (MorphoTrust) located within the state to provide fingerprints electronically. These 

sites are available by appointment only. You must visit the following website to schedule an 

appointment: www.identogo.com, or you must call (877) 219-0197 to make an appointment. Payment 

can be made during your appointment or online when scheduling.  Please note that your fingerprints 

must be obtained electronically only at an IdentoGO (L-1/ MorphoTrust) site.     

 

https://www.ok.gov/nursing/licensing/app/index.php
http://www.identogo.com/
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   Option 2:  If you have an out-of-state mailing address, Board staff will mail you specific fingerprint 

cards that you must take to a local law enforcement agency to obtain the fingerprints.  An addressed 

envelope will be provided as the fingerprint cards must be mailed by the law enforcement agency 

directly to L-1 (MorphoTrust). You are responsible for the postage and the costs associated with 

obtaining your fingerprints.  Please note that you must wait to receive the specific coded fingerprint 

cards from the Board office prior to obtaining your fingerprints.   OR  If you are in Oklahoma, you 

may follow the instructions for Option 1 above. 

If you have submitted fingerprint images that were used for the purpose of permitting a state and national 

criminal history records search with a previous exam application at the same level of licensure, you are 

exempt from this requirement.  Please note that fingerprint images were required for applications 

submitted on or after January 1, 2013; therefore, if you submitted your application prior to January 1, 

2013, you must submit fingerprint images.   

  

4. Criminal Charges, Disciplinary Action, or Judicial Declaration of Mental Incompetence:  If you 

answer “yes” to the criminal charges, discipline, or competency questions on the application, you must 

submit a statement on the application form, describing the date, location and circumstances of the 

incident, and the resulting action taken by the court or disciplinary board.  If you have more than 

one incident you are reporting, you must speak to every case/charge that has been filed.  If you have 

reported a history of being summoned, arrested, taken into custody, indicted, convicted or tried for, or 

charged with, or pleaded guilty to, the violation of any law or ordinance or the commission of any 

misdemeanor or felony, or being  requested to appear before any prosecuting attorney or investigative 

agency in any matter, you must submit certified copies of the: 

 Information Sheet (brief summary of the incident prepared by the court) 

 Affidavit of Probable Cause, Charges (listing of the charges brought against you) 

 Judgment and Sentencing (findings of the court and sentence imposed) 

 verification that sentencing requirements are complete.   

 

Certified copies are copies of court records obtained from the courthouse in the county/city where the 

action occurred, dated and signed by the court clerk, and affixed with the court seal.  You may obtain 

these documents from the courthouse in the county/city or in the federal court of the district in which the 

court action occurred. If no records are found, have the agency provide a certified letter stating no 

records were found in a search from the date of offense through current.     Internet court documents 

(such as OCIS case reports) and faxed records will not be accepted.  Please note that you must 

report all arrests and/or charges that have been brought against you.     

 

If you have reported a history of disciplinary action taken against a nursing license, certification or 

registration, any professional or occupational license, registration, or certification and/or any application 

for a nursing or professional or occupational license, registration, or certification or if there is currently 

any investigation of your nursing license, registration, or certification; and/or any professional or 

occupational license, registration, or certification; and/or any application for a nursing and/or 

professional or occupational license, registration, or certification in any state, territory or country, please 

request that a certified copy of the Board order be submitted directly to the Board office from the 

licensing agency.  If you have reported a history of judicial declaration of mental incompetence, please 

contact the Board office for further instructions.   

 

PLEASE NOTE THAT IF YOU HAVE PREVIOUSLY REPORTED THE CRIMINAL 

CHARGE OR ACTION ON YOUR INITIAL APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE BY 

EXAMINATION (AT THE SAME LEVEL), IT IS NOT NECESSARY TO REPORT THE SAME 

CHARGE OR ACTION AGAIN.  
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 5. Fee:  Payment can be made in the form of VISA, MasterCard or electronic fund transfer when 

completing the application online in the License Registration link.   

 If a hard copy application is submitted, attach to your application a money order, certified check 

or cashier’s check in the amount of $85.00 payable to the Oklahoma Board of Nursing.   

Personal checks will not be accepted.  If the fee is not submitted with the application or if the 

fee is incorrect, the application will be immediately returned without review. 

 

 

NCLEX REGISTRATION 
 

The National Council Licensure Examination (NCLEX) is administered by Pearson VUE and delivered through 

Pearson Professional Centers.  In order to be eligible to take the examination, you must register with Pearson 

VUE.  You may register with the testing service on their website:  www.vue.com/nclex  or by telephone at 866-

496-2539.  When registering, you must provide the testing service your email address. 

 

You must be registered with Pearson VUE to receive an Authorization to Test letter (ATT), which is 

issued by Pearson VUE after your application has been approved by the Oklahoma Board of Nursing.  

Once you are registered with NCLEX, your NCLEX registration will remain effective for one year, awaiting the 

approval of the Board, or until you are approved and take the examination, whichever comes first.  After the 

Board approves your registration and you have received your ATT, you have 90 days to schedule and take the 

examination.   

 It is recommended that you schedule an appointment immediately upon receiving the ATT to 

ensure that you are able to get your choice of dates and times.   

 You must take the examination within 90 days from the date the ATT was issued or you will 

forfeit your fee and have to re-register.   

 Instructions for scheduling an appointment and information regarding test center locations are 

included with the ATT letter.   

 Please note current requirements for documents that you must take to the testing center on your 

test day as found on the NCLEX website.   

 

GENERAL INFORMATION 
 

Test results will NOT be provided over the telephone by the Oklahoma Board of Nursing 

 

You are required to notify the Board in writing of any address changes occurring during the registration and 

testing process.  This notification must be signed and submitted in person, by mail, or by facsimile. 

 

Your application to the Board for licensure is valid for one year after receipt.  After that time, a new application 

and fee must be submitted.  If you take and fail the examination, another rewrite application and fee must be 

submitted.  You may view average processing times of a completed application on our website in the Agency 

Data / Statistics / Quarterly Statistics link. Repeated telephone calls to check on the status of your application 

will delay, rather than facilitate, the processing of your application. Applications are processed in the order they 

are received.   

 

Once licensed, the License Verification link on the Board’s website will be the first place your new license will 

be noted.   

 

Registered Nurse licenses expire the last day of the licensee’s birth month in even-numbered years, and 

Licensed Practical Nurse licenses expire the last day of the licensee’s birth month in odd-numbered years 

http://www.vue.com/nclex
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following the date of issuance. The application fee includes the processing of your application and licensure 

through the current renewal period.  Fees are not pro-rated and are non-refundable. 

 

In accordance with Oklahoma law (59 O.S. § 567.7.E), the Executive Director shall suspend the license or 

certificate of a person who submits a check, money draft, or similar instrument for payment of a fee which is not 

honored by the financial institution named.  The suspension becomes effective ten (10) days following delivery 

by certified mail of written notice of the dishonor and the impending suspension to the person’s address on file.  

Upon notification of suspension, the person may reinstate the authorization to practice upon payment of the fees 

and any and all costs associated with notice and collection.  The suspension shall be exempt from the 

Administrative Procedures Act.  

 

INFORMATION ON TIME LIMIT AFTER GRADUATION 

TO TAKE AND PASS THE NCLEX 
 

All applicants for licensure by examination must submit a completed application, transcript, and fee to the 

Board and a completed registration form and fee to the authorized testing service within two years of 

completion of the nursing education program.  If more than two years has elapsed, you must complete 

additional education as follows: 

 

1) Successfully complete a Board-approved refresher course in accordance with the Board’s policy; or 

2) Successfully complete nursing didactic coursework and faculty-supervised clinical experience in a 

board-approved nursing education program at the appropriate education level, to include at least 80 

hours in classroom and skills laboratory review and at least 80 hours participating in patient care 

activities in the clinical setting  

 

 After completion of the required additional education, the applicant will have two additional years to 

take and pass the NCLEX examination [OAC 485:10-7-1 (e) and 485:10-9-1 (e)]. 

 

If it has been more than two years since you graduated from your nursing education program, you must submit 

evidence of either completing a Board-approved refresher course or coursework/clinical experience in a nursing 

education program, as outlined above.  The following evidence will be accepted: 

 

1) An official transcript or original copy of a certificate of completion identifying successful completion  

 from a Board-approved refresher course 

2) An official transcript from an educational institution offering a board-approved nursing education  

 program at the same educational level as the program you originally completed, documenting at least 80  

 contact hours of theory/skills laboratory coursework and 80 contact hours in clinical coursework.  Credit  

 hours will be converted to contact hours using the following ratios: 15 contact hours per credit hour for  

 theory, 30 contact hours per credit hour for skills laboratory, and 45 contact hours per credit hour for  

 clinical coursework. 

. 

 

A list of nursing education programs and refresher courses approved by the Oklahoma Board of Nursing is 

available on the Board’s website:  www.ok.gov/nursing.  Click on the link for “Education”.   

 

 

 

 

http://www.ok.gov/nursing
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INFORMATION ON TIME LIMIT AFTER PREVIOUSLY PASSING THE 

NCLEX WITHOUT RESULTANT LICENSURE 
 

If more than two (2) years has elapsed since you successfully passed the NCLEX-RN / NCLEX-PN and did 

NOT obtain licensure as a Registered Nurse / Licensed Practical Nurse, you must complete additional education 

as follows: 

 

1) Successfully complete a Board-approved refresher course in accordance with the Board’s policy; or 

2) Successfully complete nursing didactic coursework and faculty-supervised clinical experience in a  

 board-approved nursing education program at the appropriate education level, to include at least 80  

 hours in classroom and skills laboratory review and at least 80 hours participating in patient care  

 activities in the clinical setting  

 

 

If it has been more than two years since you passed the NCLEX, you must submit evidence of either completing 

a Board-approved refresher course or coursework/clinical experience in a nursing education program, as 

outlined above.  The following evidence will be accepted: 

 

1) An official transcript or original copy of a certificate of completion identifying successful completion  

 from a Board-approved refresher course; or 

2) An official transcript from an educational institution offering a board-approved nursing education  

 program at the same educational level as the program you originally completed, documenting at least 80  

 contact hours of theory/skills laboratory coursework and 80 contact hours in clinical coursework.  Credit  

 hours will be converted to contact hours using the following ratios: 15 contact hours per credit hour for  

 theory, 30 contact hours per credit hour for skills laboratory, and 45 contact hours per credit hour for  

 clinical coursework 

 

COMMON MISTAKES  

THAT DELAY APPLICATION PROCESSING 
 

 Failing to submit fingerprint images to be used for the purpose of permitting a state and national 

criminal background search 

 

 Leaving application questions incomplete or unanswered, or using correction fluid on the 

application 

 

 Not providing a Social Security number 

 

 Failing to provide the full legal name (with the notation “NMN” if there is no middle name) 

 

 Not registering with the testing service for the examination 

 

 Failing to provide a Social Security number to the testing service 

 

 Failing to provide a complete description and documentation regarding history of criminal 

charges, disciplinary action, or judicial declaration of incompetence 
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INFORMATION TO BE ADDED TO APPLICATION 

 

DATE________________  SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER_______________ 

 

NAME ON APPLICATION_________________________________________________ 

 

TYPE OF APPLICATION ON FILE (Please check one): 

_____ Application or Rewrite Application for Licensure by Examination 

_____ Application for Licensure by Endorsement 

_____ Application for Reinstatement of a License, Certificate or Recognition 

_____ Application for Renewal of a License, Certificate or Recognition 

_____ Application for Advanced Practice Licensure or Prescriptive Authority Recognition 

_____ Other:____________________________________________________________ 

 

----------------------------------------------(DETACH HERE)--------------------------------------- 

 

INFORMATION TO BE ADDED TO APPLICATION 

 

DATE________________  SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER_______________ 

 

NAME ON APPLICATION_________________________________________________ 

 

TYPE OF APPLICATION ON FILE (Please check one): 

_____ Application or Rewrite Application for Licensure by Examination 

_____ Application for Licensure by Endorsement 

_____ Application for Reinstatement of a License, Certificate or Recognition 

_____ Application for Renewal of a License, Certificate or Recognition 

_____ Application for Advanced Practice Licensure or Prescriptive Authority Recognition 

_____ Other:____________________________________________________________ 

 

-------------------------------------------------(DETACH HERE)------------------------------------ 

 

INFORMATION TO BE ADDED TO APPLICATION 

 

DATE________________  SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER_______________ 

 

NAME ON APPLICATION_________________________________________________ 

 

TYPE OF APPLICATION ON FILE (Please check one): 

_____ Application or Rewrite Application for Licensure by Examination 

_____ Application for Licensure by Endorsement 

_____ Application for Reinstatement of a License, Certificate or Recognition 

_____ Application for Renewal of a License, Certificate or Recognition 

_____ Application for Advanced Practice Licensure or Prescriptive Authority Recognition 

_____ Other:____________________________________________________________ 
 


