Oklahoma Board of Nursing
2915 N. Classen Boulevard, Suite 524
Oklahoma City, OK 73106
(405) 962-1800
http://nursing.ok.gov/

INSTRUCTIONS for
CRNA AUTHORITY to SELECT, ORDER,
OBTAIN and ADMINISTER DRUGS

Application Fee - $85.00

Use this application if:

. You are currently licensed as a Registered Nurse in Oklahoma; and
. You hold Oklahoma licensure as a Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist; and
. You have not been recognized previously in Oklahoma for authority to select,

order, obtain, and administer drugs.

PLEASE READ THESE INSTRUCTIONS CAREFULLY
BEFORE COMPLETING THE APPLICATION.

APPLICATIONS ARE AVAILABLE FOR SUBMISSION ONLINE THROUGH
https://pay.apps.ok.gov/nursing/licensing/app/index.php

A paper copy may be requested by the individual applicant by submitting a written request for
such to the Board office. The applicant must include a postage-paid ($1.06 postage cost) 8 2 x 11
inch return envelope for Board staff to return an application.

Forms referenced may be found in the Forms / Applications link on the Board’s website.

The Oklahoma Nursing Practice Act requires current licensure as a registered nurse and as a
CRNA with authority to select, order, obtain and administer drugs from the Oklahoma Board of
Nursing prior to ordering drugs or identifying oneself as a CRNA with authority to select, order,
obtain and administer drugs.

CRNAs administer anesthesia under the supervision of a medical doctor, an osteopathic physician,
a podiatric physician, or a dentist licensed in Oklahoma under conditions in which timely, on-site
consultation by such medical doctor, osteopathic physician, podiatric physician, dentist is available
[59 O.S. §567.3a.10.a.]

A Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist, under the supervision of a medical doctor, osteopathic
physician, a podiatric physician, or dentist licensed in this state, and under conditions in which
timely, on-site consultation by such medical doctor, osteopathic physician, podiatric physician,
dentist is available, shall be authorized, pursuant to an Inclusionary Formulary adopted by the
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Oklahoma Board of Nursing, to order, select, obtain and administer legend drugs, Schedules 11
through V controlled substances, devices, and medical gases only when engaged in the
preanesthetic preparation and evaluation; anesthesia induction, maintenance and emergence; and
postanesthesia care. A Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist may order, select, obtain and
administer drugs only during the perioperative or periobstetrical period.

The current Inclusionary Formulary should be accessed on the Board’s webpage at:
http://nursing.ok.gov/prac-crnafrm.pdf

REQUIREMENTS FOR CRNA AUTHORITY TO
SELECT, ORDER, OBTAIN AND ADMINISTER DRUGS

Licensure and Advanced Practice Requirements: Approval for authority to select, order, obtain
and administer drugs requires current licensure in Oklahoma as a Registered Nurse and as a
Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist.

Educational Preparation: The CRNA applying for authority to select, order, obtain and
administer drugs must submit documentation verifying completion of a minimum of 15 units of
continuing education in advanced pharmacology related to the administration of anesthesia as
recognized by the American Association of Nurse Anesthetists or within an approved nurse
anesthetist education program within the two-year period immediately preceding the date of
application. In addition, an official transcript of the initial CRNA education must be submitted
from the nurse anesthetist educational program, if not already on file at the Board office.

Current National Certification: You must hold current national certification with the American
Council on Certification/Recertification of Nurse Anesthetists.

Renewal Requirements: Authority to select, order, obtain, and administer drugs must be renewed
concurrently with registered nurse and advanced practice renewals in even-numbered years.
Please see the Nursing Practice Act for current renewal requirements.

e If you are applying for initial authority to select, order, obtain, and administer drugs
recognition within 90 days prior to the expiration date of your Oklahoma RN license, you
must renew your RN and APRN licenses prior to the date the authority to select, order,
obtain, and administer recognition is granted.

Review of criminal charges, disciplinary action, or judicial declaration of incompetence:
Applicants for CRNA authority to select, order, obtain and administer drugs who have ever been
summoned, arrested, taken into custody, indicted, convicted or tried for, or charged with, or
pleaded guilty to, the violation of any law or ordinance or the commission of any misdemeanor or
felony, or requested to appear before any prosecuting attorney or investigative agency in any
matter; or have ever had disciplinary action taken against a nursing license, certification or
registration, any professional or occupational license, registration, or certification and/or any
application for a nursing or professional or occupational license, registration, or certification or if
there is currently any investigation of your nursing license, registration, or certification; and/or any
professional or occupational license, registration, or certification; and/or any application for a
nursing and/or professional or occupational license, registration, or certification in any state,
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territory or country, or have ever been judicially declared incompetent are required to notify the
Oklahoma Board of Nursing if the incident has not previously been reported in writing to the
Board. A “report in writing” means that the applicant/licensee provided a signed and dated
description stating in his/her own words the date, location, and circumstances of the incident, and
if applicable, the resulting action taken by the court, agency, or disciplinary board. The report may
be in the form of a letter or a statement in the provided space on the application. The report must
be accompanied by certified court records or a board order. A verbal report does not constitute a
“report in writing”. A written report not accompanied by a full set of certified court records or the
board order(s) does not constitute a “report in writing”. Failure to report such action is a violation
of the Oklahoma Nursing Practice Act.

INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETION OF THE APPLICATION

1. Completion of application: The application should be completed and submitted online on
the Board’s website: https://pay.apps.ok.gov/nursing/licensing/app/index.php
You must complete all sections of the application using your name as it appears on your
license card.

You must provide a Social Security number on the application. This information is
mandatory, pursuant to 56 O.S. § 240.21A, for administration of the tax laws of the State
of Oklahoma.

If submitting a hard copy application, you may NOT use correction fluid on the
application. When you are finished entering your information, sign the application
LEGIBLY, using your full legal name.

Fee: Payment can be made in the form of VISA, MasterCard or electronic fund transfer
when completing the application online in the License Registration link.

e If a hard copy application is submitted, attach to your application to the Board office the
appropriate fee payable by cashiers check, money order, or personal check. If the fee is
not submitted with the application or if the fee is incorrect, the application will be
immediately returned without review. Fees submitted are not refundable

2. Criminal Charges, Disciplinary Action, or Judicial Declaration of Mental
Incompetence: If you answer “yes” to the criminal charge, discipline, or competency
questions on the application, you must submit a statement on the application form,
describing the date, location and circumstances of the incident, and the resulting
action taken by the court or disciplinary board. If you have more than one incident you
are reporting, you must speak to every case/charge that has been filed. If you have reported
a history of being summoned, arrested, taken into custody, indicted, convicted or tried for,
or charged with, or pleaded guilty to, the violation of any law or ordinance or the
commission of any misdemeanor or felony, or being requested to appear before any
prosecuting attorney or investigative agency in any matter, you must submit certified
copies of the:

e Information Sheet (brief summary of the incident prepared by the court)
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e Affidavit of Probable Cause, Charges (listing of the charges brought against you)
e Judgment and Sentencing (findings of the court and sentence imposed)
e Verification that sentencing requirements are complete.

Certified copies are copies of court records obtained from the courthouse in the county/city
where the action occurred, dated and signed by the court clerk, and affixed with the court seal.
You may obtain these documents from the courthouse in the county/city or in the federal court
of the district in which the court action occurred. If no records are found, have the agency
provide a certified letter stating no records were found in a search from the date of offense
through current. Internet court documents (such as OCIS case reports) and faxed records
will not be accepted. Please note that you must report all arrests and/or charges that
have been brought against you.

If you have reported a history of disciplinary action taken against a nursing license,
certification or registration, any professional or occupational license, registration, or
certification and/or any application for a nursing or professional or occupational license,
registration, or certification or if there is currently any investigation of your nursing license,
registration, or certification; and/or any professional or occupational license, registration,
or certification; and/or any application for a nursing and/or professional or occupational
license, registration, or certification in any state, territory or country, please request that a
certified copy of the Board order be submitted directly to the Board office from the
licensing agency. If you have reported a history of judicial declaration of mental
incompetence, please contact the Board office for further instructions.

3. Evaluation of CRNA Credentials: Please complete the section on educational credentials
accurately and completely. You must request that an official transcript with verification
of your nurse anesthetist educational program be submitted, unless the official
transcript was previously submitted for APRN licensure. In addition, you must provide
your CRNA certification number, so that your current, national certification can be verified
online.

4. Evaluation of Educational Preparation for Authority to Select, Order, Obtain and
Administer Drugs: Please submit documentation verifying a minimum of 15 units of
continuing education _in_advanced pharmacology related to the administration of
anesthesia as recognized by the American Association of Nurse Anesthetists within the
two year period immediately preceding the date of application.

a. The documentation must include copies of certificates of completion verifying
date of completion, target audience, name of course, name of licensee, number of
units, and recognition by AANA.

b. If you have completed your nurse anesthetist education program within the two
year period immediately preceding the date of the application, Board staff can use
the transcript for the evaluation.

5. DEA and OBNDD Registration: The CRNA with authority to order, select, obtain and
administer Schedule 11-V drugs shall comply with Federal Drug Enforcement
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Administration (DEA) requirements and state of Oklahoma requirements prior to
prescribing controlled substances [OAC 485:10-18-5(c)].

GENERAL INFORMATION

You are required to notify the Board in writing of any address changes within 30 days of the
change. This notification must be signed and submitted in person, by mail, online, or by facsimile.

Your application to the Board is valid for one year after receipt. After that time, a new application
and fee must be submitted.

Applications are processed in the order they are received. You may view average processing times
of a completed application on the Board’s website in the Agency Data / Statistics / Quarterly
Statistics link. Repeated telephone calls to check on the status of your application will delay,
rather than facilitate, the processing of your application. Fees submitted are not refundable.

If it is necessary to submit additional information/documents after your application is received,
please attach the form titled “Information to be Added to the Application” to the document (see
attached form). If the document is coming directly from another individual or entity, please
provide the form to that individual or entity. This will help to ensure the document is added to
your application file without delay.

In accordance with Oklahoma law (59 O.S. §567.7 (E)), the Executive Director shall suspend the
license or certificate of a person who submits a check, money draft, or similar instrument for
payment of a fee which is not honored by the financial institution named. The suspension becomes
effective ten (10) days following delivery by certified mail of written notice of the dishonor and
the impending suspension to the person’s address on file. Upon notification of suspension, the
person may reinstate the authorization to practice upon payment of the fees and any and all costs
associated with notice and collection. The suspension shall be exempt from the Administrative
Procedures Act.
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COMMON MISTAKES THAT DELAY PROCESSING

Common mistakes that delay the processing of your application include failure to:
» Answer all application questions completely
> Provide a legible application with no correction fluid used
> Provide a Social Security number
>

Provide the full name under which you were licensed & sign the application with the
full legal name, or signing illegibly

» Submit required documentation for continuing education

> Provide a complete description and documentation regarding a history of criminal
charges, disciplinary action, or judicial declaration of incompetence
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