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Oklahoma Board of Nursing  

2915 N. Classen Boulevard, Suite 524  

Oklahoma City, OK 73106  

(405) 962-1800  

www.ok.gov/nursing 

 

INSTRUCTIONS for  

PRESCRIPTIVE AUTHORITY RECOGNITION for the  

ADVANCED PRACTICE REGISTERED NURSE 
 

Application Fee - $85.00 

 

Use this application if: 

 You are a Certified Nurse Practitioner, Clinical Nurse Specialist, or Certified Nurse 

Midwife applying for prescriptive authority in Oklahoma; and 

 You have not held prescriptive authority recognition previously in Oklahoma. 

 

PLEASE READ THESE INSTRUCTIONS CAREFULLY  

BEFORE COMPLETING THE APPLICATION. 

 

APPLICATIONS ARE AVAILABLE FOR SUBMISSION ONLINE THROUGH 

https://www.ok.gov/nursing/licensing/app/index.php.   

A paper copy may be requested by the individual applicant by submitting a written request for such to the 

Board office.  The applicant must include a postage-paid ($1.06 postage cost) 8 ½ x 11 inch return 

envelope for Board staff to return an application. 

 

Forms referenced may be found in the Forms / Applications link on the Board’s website.   

 

 

The Oklahoma Nursing Practice Act requires current licensure as a Registered Nurse and as an Advanced 

Practice Registered Nurse with prescriptive authority recognition from the Oklahoma Board of Nursing 

prior to prescribing or ordering drugs or medical supplies or identifying oneself as an Advanced Practice 

Registered Nurse with prescriptive authority recognition.   

 Please note that prescriptive authority recognition is specific to the advanced practice role 

(CNP, CNS, or CNM) and the specialty certification for which the APRN is licensed in 

Oklahoma.  An Advanced Practice Registered Nurse with more than one advanced practice 

license or specialty certification must hold separate prescriptive authority recognition for 

each advanced practice license or specialty certification.     
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

http://www.ok.gov/nursing
https://www.ok.gov/nursing/licensing/app/index.php
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REQUIREMENTS for  

PRESCRIPTIVE AUTHORITY RECOGNITION 
 

Licensure and Advanced Practice Requirements: Approval for prescriptive authority requires current 

licensure in Oklahoma as a Registered Nurse and as a Certified Nurse Practitioner (CNP), Certified Nurse 

Midwife (CNM), or Clinical Nurse Specialist (CNS). The Advanced Practice Registered Nurse must hold 

a graduate degree at an advanced practice level, or a post-master’s certificate at an advanced practice level 

if the master’s degree is in nursing, in order to be eligible for initial application for prescriptive authority.  

 

Educational Preparation: Prescriptive authority recognition may be granted to the applicant who holds 

current prescriptive authority in the same role in another state or territory and wishes to endorse that 

recognition/licensure into Oklahoma and to the applicant who has never held prescriptive authority 

recognition in another state or territory and is applying for initial recognition.  Please review the two 

options below and act accordingly.  

 

1) The Advanced Practice Registered Nurse applying for endorsement of prescriptive authority 

recognition into Oklahoma may be issued prescriptive authority recognition provided the applicant 

submits documentation verifying successful completion of a graduate level advanced practice 

registered nursing education program that included an academic course in pharmacotherapeutic 

management, and didactic and clinical preparation for prescribing incorporated throughout the 

program. 

  

2) The Advanced Practice Registered Nurse who has never been granted prescriptive 

 authority recognition in another state or territory and is applying for initial prescriptive 

 authority recognition must: 

a. have completed an advanced practice registered nursing education program that included 

an academic course in pharmacotherapeutic management and didactic and clinical 

preparation for prescribing incorporated throughout the program.   

b. submit documentation verifying completion of 45 contact hours of Category B continuing 

education or three academic credit hours of education (Category A) within the last three 

years immediately preceding the date of receipt of the application for prescriptive 

authority, in a course or courses in pharmacotherapeutic management that targets 

Advanced Practice Registered Nurses or individuals enrolled in an advanced practice 

registered nursing education program and/or other authorized prescribers.  The three year 

time period may be waived if the applicant has graduated from the advanced practice 

education program within a time period of three years immediately preceding the date of 

the application for prescriptive authority and submits evidence that didactic and clinical 

preparation for prescribing was incorporated throughout the program.   

1. Continuing education equivalencies used are as follows: 

  One Contact Hour   = 50 Minutes 

  One Academic Semester Hour = 15 Contact Hours 

  One Academic Quarter Hour  = 12.5 Contact Hours 

2. Category A education consists of academic credit hours at the advanced practice 

level earned in a college or university.   

3. Category B continuing education is defined in the Rules of the Oklahoma Board of 

Nursing [OAC 485:10-16-1] as follows:   

i)  Onsite Seminar or lecture or workshop or course approved for contact 

hours, continuing education units or continuing medical education units 

through a recognized approver of continuing education ; or 
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ii)  Online continuing education for initial applications must be approved 

through a recognized approver of continuing education, and includes a 

minimum of thirty hours obtained from a single provider that is faculty-

directed, with processes for interaction of the participant with faculty, 

evaluating the participant's learning through successful completion of case 

studies or written assignments and a comprehensive examination using a 

mechanism to ensure security of the evaluation process. 

4. Please note that only education earned in Category A or Category B can be used to 

establish eligibility for initial prescriptive authority recognition. 

 

Until January 1, 2016, a Clinical Nurse Specialist who verifies completion of a graduate level advanced 

practice registered nursing education program that included an academic course in pharmacotherapeutic 

management may meet the following requirements in lieu of submitting verification of didactic and 

clinical preparation for prescribing incorporated throughout the advanced practice nursing education 

program:   

a. Documentation verifying completion of a course in pharmacotherapeutic management 

applicable to the Clinical Nurse Specialist’s specialty area which must be a minimum of 

two academic credit hours or 30 contact hours of Category B continuing education. All 

didactic coursework in pharmacotherapeutics must be a prerequisite or co-requisite to the 

preceptorial experience and verified by official documentation of approval by the academic 

program that offers the preceptorial experience; and 

b. Documentation verifying successful completion of a minimum of 320 clock hours of 

preceptorial experience in providing direct care including demonstration of prescribing 

drugs and medicines. The preceptorial experience must be developed, overseen, and 

approved by an academic program that prepares Clinical Nurse Specialists. 

 

Additional Requirements for Endorsement of prescriptive authority recognition from another 

state:   

In addition to meeting other requirements for endorsement established by the Board in the Rules, the 

applicant for endorsement of prescriptive authority recognition must demonstrate either of the following 

requirements within the last two (2) years prior to receipt of the completed application in the Board office: 

1) Employment in a position that requires APRN prescriptive authority licensure or  recognition with 

verification of at least 520 work hours; or 

 

2) Documentation approved by the Board, verifying a minimum of fifteen (15) contact hours or one 

academic credit hour of education or the equivalent in pharmacotherapeutics and clinical 

application of use of pharmacological agents in the prevention of illness and in the restoration and 

maintenance of health, in a program approved by the Board that is more advanced than basic 

registered nurse preparation and that is applicable to the scope of practice and specialty 

certification 

   

Supervision by a Physician: The applicant for prescriptive authority recognition must document 

(through submission of an Agreement for Physician Supervising Advanced Practice Prescriptive 

Authority form) supervision by a physician licensed to practice in Oklahoma by the State Board of 

Medical Licensure and Supervision or the State Board of Osteopathic Examiners.  Supervision of an 

Advanced Practice Registered Nurse with prescriptive authority means “overseeing and accepting 

responsibility for the ordering and transmission by a Certified Nurse Practitioner, a Clinical Nurse 

Specialist, or a Certified Nurse Midwife of written, telephonic, electronic or oral prescriptions for drugs 

and other medical supplies, subject to a defined formulary” [59 O.S. § 567.3a.12]. 
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DEA Registration: The Advanced Practice Registered Nurse with prescriptive authority who prescribes 

Schedule III-V drugs will comply with state and Federal Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) and 

Oklahoma Bureau of Narcotics and Dangerous Drug (OBNDD) requirements prior to prescribing 

controlled substances.  Even after receiving DEA and OBNDD registration, the Advanced Practice 

Registered Nurse may not prescribe Schedule I or II drugs.  Schedule III-V drugs may be prescribed for 

no more than a 30 day supply. 

 

Use of Formulary:  The Advanced Practice Registered Nurse with prescriptive authority recognition 

must refer to the Exclusionary Formulary for Advanced Practice Nurses with Prescriptive Authority (#P-

50B) to identify medications that may NOT be prescribed or ordered.  The current Exclusionary 

Formulary may be reviewed at: http://www.ok.gov/nursing/prac-exclusfrm.pdf 

 

Renewal Requirements: Prescriptive authority must be renewed concurrently with Registered Nurse and 

Advanced Practice Registered Nurse renewals in even-numbered years.   

 If you are applying for prescriptive authority recognition within 90 days prior to the expiration 

date of your Oklahoma RN license, you must renew your license prior to the date the prescriptive 

authority recognition is granted. The APRN with prescriptive authority must meet established 

requirements for continuing education to be eligible for renewal. Please see the Oklahoma Nursing 

Practice Act and Rules for renewal requirements. 

 

Review of criminal charges, disciplinary action, or judicial declaration of incompetence: Applicants 

for prescriptive authority who have ever been summoned, arrested, taken into custody, indicted, convicted 

or tried for, or charged with, or pleaded guilty to, the violation of any law or ordinance or the commission 

of any misdemeanor or felony, or requested to appear before any prosecuting attorney or investigative 

agency in any matter; or have ever had disciplinary action taken against a nursing license, certification or 

registration, any professional or occupational license, registration, or certification and/or any application 

for a nursing or professional or occupational license, registration, or certification or if there is currently 

any investigation of your nursing license, registration, or certification; and/or any professional or 

occupational license, registration, or certification; and/or any application for a nursing and/or professional 

or occupational license, registration, or certification in any state, territory or country, or have ever been 

judicially declared incompetent are required to notify the Oklahoma Board of Nursing if the incident has 

not previously been reported in writing to the Board.  A “report in writing” means that the 

applicant/licensee provided a signed and dated description stating in his/her own words the date, location, 

and circumstances of the incident, and if applicable, the resulting action taken by the court, agency, or 

disciplinary board.  The report may be in the form of a letter or a statement in the provided space on the 

application.  The report must be accompanied by certified court records or a board order.  A verbal report 

does not constitute a “report in writing”.  A written report not accompanied by a full set of certified court 

records or the board order(s) does not constitute a “report in writing”.  Failure to report such action is a 

violation of the Oklahoma Nursing Practice Act.   

 

INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETION OF THE APPLICATION 
 

1. Completion of application:  The application should be completed and submitted online on the 

Board’s website:  https://www.ok.gov/nursing/licensing/app/index.php.   

You must complete all sections of the application using your name as it appears on your license 

card.   

 

You must provide a Social Security number on the application.  This information is 

mandatory, pursuant to 56 O.S. § 240.21A. 

http://www.ok.gov/nursing/prac-exclusfrm.pdf
https://www.ok.gov/nursing/licensing/app/index.php
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If submitting a hard copy application, you may NOT use correction fluid on the application.  

When you are finished entering your information, sign the application LEGIBLY, using your full 

legal name. 

 

2. Criminal Charges, Disciplinary Action, or Judicial Declaration of Mental Incompetence: If you 

answer “yes” to the criminal charge, discipline, or competency questions on the application, you 

must submit a statement on the application form, describing the date, location and 

circumstances of the incident, and the resulting action taken by the court or disciplinary 

board.  If you have more than one incident you are reporting, you must speak to every case/charge 

that has been filed.  If you have reported a history of being summoned, arrested, taken into 

custody, indicted, convicted or tried for, or charged with, or pleaded guilty to, the violation of any 

law or ordinance or the commission of any misdemeanor or felony, or being  requested to appear 

before any prosecuting attorney or investigative agency in any matter, you must submit certified 

copies of the Information Sheet (brief summary of the incident prepared by the court), Affidavit 

of Probable Cause, Charges (listing of the charges brought against you), Judgment and 

Sentencing (findings of the court and sentence imposed), and verification that sentencing 

requirements are complete.  Certified copies are copies of court records obtained from the 

courthouse in the county/city where the action occurred, dated and signed by the court clerk, and 

affixed with the court seal.  You may obtain these documents from the courthouse in the 

county/city or in the federal court of the district in which the court action occurred.  Internet 

court documents (such as OCIS case reports) and faxed records will not be accepted.  Please 

note that you must report all arrests and/or charges that have been brought against you.     

 

If you have reported a history of discipline on a nursing license, certification or registration, any 

professional or occupational license, registration, or certification and/or any application for a 

nursing or professional or occupational license, registration, or certification or if there is currently 

any investigation of your nursing license, registration, or certification; and/or any professional or 

occupational license, registration, or certification; and/or any application for a nursing and/or 

professional or occupational license, registration, or certification in any state, territory or country, 

please request that a certified copy of the order from the licensing agency be submitted directly to 

the Board office.  If you have reported a history of judicial declaration of mental incompetence, 

please contact the Board office for further instructions.   

 

3. Evaluation of Advanced Practice Credentials: Please complete the section on educational 

credentials accurately and completely. You must request that an official transcript with 

verification of a graduate degree from an advanced practice program be submitted, unless 

the official transcript was previously submitted for advanced practice licensure. If your advanced 

practice education was in a post-master’s certificate program, you must submit an official 

transcript with your master’s degree in nursing.  If the transcript does NOT verify an APRN role 

and specialty were conferred, additional information may be requested. 

 

4. Evaluation of Educational Preparation for Prescriptive Authority Recognition: If you are 

applying for endorsement of your prescriptive authority recognition, if one is not already on file, 

please have an official transcript submitted to this office verifying successful completion of a 

graduate level advanced practice registered nursing education program that included an academic 

course in pharmacotherapeutic management, and didactic and clinical preparation for prescribing 

incorporated throughout the program. 
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If you are applying for initial recognition, please submit documentation to verify three academic 

credit hours (Category A) of education or the equivalent, in a course or courses in 

pharmacotherapeutic management that targets Advanced Practice Registered Nurses or individuals 

enrolled in an advanced practice registered nursing education program and/or other authorized 

prescribers completed within the last three (3) years of submission of this application   OR   45 

contact hours of Category B continuing education completed within the last three (3) years of 

submission of this application  
 

MAXIMUM CREDITS ALLOWED FOR 

 

Initial Prescriptive 

Authority 

CATEGORY A:  Academic Credit:  Evidence of completion of coursework in 

pharmacotherapeutics appropriate for Advanced Practice Registered Nurses. 

Up to 100% 

(3 credit hours) 

CATEGORY B:   

(i) Onsite seminar, lecture, workshop, or course, approved for contact hours, 

continuing education units, or continuing medical education units by a recognized 

approver of continuing education. Evidence of attendance at an approved 

pharmacotherapeutic offering appropriate for advanced practice nurses;  

(ii) Online continuing education for initial applications must be approved through a 

recognized approver of continuing education, and includes a minimum of thirty 

hours obtained from a single provider that is faculty-directed, with processes for 

interaction of the participant with faculty, evaluating the participant's learning 

through successful completion of case studies or written assignments and a 

comprehensive examination using a mechanism to ensure security of the evaluation 

process. . 

Up to 100% 

(45 contact hours) 

   

For Category A education:  submit an official transcript and the course description from an 

institution of higher learning.  

 

For Category B education:  submit copies of certificates of completion (verifying date of 

completion, target audience, name of course, name of licensee, number of contact hours, and name 

of the recognized approver of continuing education) and course objectives verifying a minimum of 

45 contact hours of onsite continuing education.  Please note that online continuing education 

contact hours can only be used if they fulfill the requirements of Category B ii education.  

Please ensure these requirements are met before enrolling in and/or submitting online 

continuing education.  

  

Clinical Nurse Specialists who completed an advanced practice registered nursing education 

program that included an academic course in pharmacotherapeutics management, but did 

NOT include didactic and clinical preparation for prescribing incorporated throughout the 

program must additionally submit documentation verifying completion of a course in 

pharmacotherapeutic management applicable to the Clinical Nurse Specialist’s specialty area 

which must be a minimum of two academic credit hours or 30 contact Hours of Category B 

continuing education, and successful completion of a minimum of 320 clock hours of preceptorial 

experience in providing direct care including demonstration of prescribing drugs and medicines. 

The preceptorial experience must be developed, overseen, and approved by an academic program 

that prepares Clinical Nurse Specialists. Written verification of university approval of the course 

and oversight of the preceptorial experience must be submitted directly from the university. 
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5. Additional Requirements for Endorsement of prescriptive authority recognition  

 from another state:   

a. If you chose Option A from above, please provide to this office evidence of current 

prescriptive authority recognition in another state or territory and have the employer 

provide directly to this office an Employment Verification Form verifying at least 520 or 

more hours worked in a position requiring your APRN prescriptive authority.   

b. If you chose Option B from above, please provide evidence of completion of at least 15 

contact hours or one academic credit hour according to the table below:   

 
CATEGORY A: Academic Credit: Evidence of completion of coursework in 

pharmacotherapeutics appropriate for advanced practice nurses via an official transcript 

Up to 100% 

(1 credit hour) 

CATEGORY B: Onsite seminar, lecture, workshop, or course, approved for contact hours, 

continuing education units, or continuing medical education units by a recognized approver 

of continuing education.  Evidence of attendance at an approved pharmacotherapeutic 

offering appropriate for advanced practice nurses  

Up to 100% 

(15 contact hours) 

CATEGORY C: Online seminars or workshops, or articles in professional journals or 

other professional references approved for contact hours, continuing education units, or 

continued medical education units by a recognized approver of continuing education:  

Evidence of satisfactory performance on an article related to pharmacotherapeutic 

continuing education appropriate for advanced practice nurses. 

Up to 100% 

(15contact hours) 

CATEGORY D: Published article in refereed journal, book, or research project.  Evidence 

of publication of one article related to pharmacotherapy appropriate for advanced practice 

nurses.  These will be evaluated on a case-by-case basis. 

Up to 20% 

(3 contact hours) 

CATEGORY E: Presenter/Lecturer. Evidence of providing content related to 

pharmacotherapeutics at an advanced practice level.  The presentation / lecture must be 

approved for contact hours or offered as part of an academic course with a target audience 

of advanced practice nurses. 

Up to 20% 

(3 contact hours) 

 

6. Agreement for Physician Supervising Advanced Practice Prescriptive Authority: Authorize the 

physicians who will be supervising your prescriptive authority to complete and notarize the 

Agreement for Physician Supervising Advanced Practice Prescriptive Authority form. You must 

have a supervising physician agreement form on file for all physicians who are supervising your 

prescriptive authority. If any of your supervising physicians change or discontinue their agreement 

with you, you must notify the Board in writing within 30 days of the change, using the Change in 

Physician(s) Supervising Advanced Practice Prescriptive Authority form.  

 

 Please note: Supervising physicians must have a current Oklahoma M.D. or D.O. license and 

registrations from the Oklahoma Bureau of Narcotics and Dangerous Drugs Control (OBNDD) 

and the Drug Enforcement Agency (DEA). Additionally, the supervising physician should contact 

the Oklahoma State Board of Medical Licensure and Supervision (MD’s) or the Oklahoma State 

Board of Osteopathic Examiners (DO’s) for the Rules governing physicians supervising APRNs 

with prescriptive authority. 

 

7.  DEA and OBNDD Registration: The Advanced Practice Registered Nurse with prescriptive 

authority who prescribes Schedule III-V drugs will comply with state and Federal Drug 

Enforcement Administration (DEA) and Oklahoma Bureau of Narcotics and Dangerous Drug 

(OBNDD) requirements prior to prescribing controlled substances. If either the OBNDD or the 

DEA registration lapses or is otherwise in an inactive status, the APRN must cease prescribing 

Schedule III-V drugs.  

 

8.       Fee:  Payment can be made in the form of VISA, MasterCard or electronic fund transfer when 

completing the application online in the License Registration link.   



RS-07  8/27/15 

 If a hard copy application is submitted, attach to your application to the Board office the 

appropriate fee payable by cashiers check, money order, or personal check.  If the fee is not 

submitted with the application or if the fee is incorrect, the application will be immediately 

returned without review.  Fees submitted are not refundable 

 

GENERAL INFORMATION 
 

You are required to notify the Board in writing of any address changes within 30 days of the change.  This 

notification must be signed and submitted in person, by mail, online, or by facsimile. 

 

Your application to the Board for recognition is valid for one year after receipt. After that time, a new 

application and fee must be submitted. Applications are processed in the order they are received. You may 

view average processing times of a completed application on our website in the Agency Data / Statistics / 

Quarterly Statistics link. Repeated telephone calls to check on the status of your application will delay, 

rather than facilitate, the processing of your application.  
 

If it is necessary to submit additional information/documents after your application is received, please 

attach the form titled “Information to be Added to the Application” to the document (see attached form).  

This will help to ensure the document is added to your application file without delay.    

 

In accordance with Oklahoma law (59 O.S. §567.7 (E)), the Executive Director shall suspend the license 

or certificate of a person who submits a check, money draft, or similar instrument for payment of a fee 

which is not honored by the financial institution named.  The suspension becomes effective ten (10) days 

following delivery by certified mail of written notice of the dishonor and the impending suspension to the 

person’s address on file.  Upon notification of suspension, the person may reinstate the authorization to 

practice upon payment of the fees and any and all costs associated with notice and collection.  The 

suspension shall be exempt from the Administrative Procedures Act.   

 

COMMON MISTAKES THAT DELAY APPLICATION PROCESSING 
 

Common mistakes that delay the processing of your application include failure to: 

 

 Answer all application questions completely 

 

 Submit required documentation of advanced practice education in pharmacotherapeutics  

 

 Verify that online continuing education for initial recognition meets the requirements 

identified for Category B (ii) 

 

 Provide a complete description and documentation related to criminal charges, disciplinary 

action, or judicial declaration of incompetence 
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INFORMATION TO BE ADDED TO APPLICATION 

 

DATE________________  SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER_______________ 

 

NAME ON APPLICATION_________________________________________________ 

 

TYPE OF APPLICATION ON FILE (Please check one): 

_____ Application or Rewrite Application for Licensure by Examination 

_____ Application for Licensure by Endorsement 

_____ Application for Reinstatement of a License, Certificate or Recognition 

_____ Application for Renewal of a License, Certificate or Recognition 

_____ Application for Advanced Practice Licensure or Prescriptive Authority Recognition 

_____ Other:____________________________________________________________ 

 

----------------------------------------------(DETACH HERE)--------------------------------------- 

 

INFORMATION TO BE ADDED TO APPLICATION 

 

DATE________________  SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER_______________ 

 

NAME ON APPLICATION_________________________________________________ 

 

TYPE OF APPLICATION ON FILE (Please check one): 

_____ Application or Rewrite Application for Licensure by Examination 

_____ Application for Licensure by Endorsement 

_____ Application for Reinstatement of a License, Certificate or Recognition 

_____ Application for Renewal of a License, Certificate or Recognition 

_____ Application for Advanced Practice Licensure or Prescriptive Authority Recognition 

_____ Other:____________________________________________________________ 

 

-------------------------------------------------(DETACH HERE)------------------------------------ 

 

INFORMATION TO BE ADDED TO APPLICATION 

 

DATE________________  SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER_______________ 

 

NAME ON APPLICATION_________________________________________________ 

 

TYPE OF APPLICATION ON FILE (Please check one): 

_____ Application or Rewrite Application for Licensure by Examination 

_____ Application for Licensure by Endorsement 

_____ Application for Reinstatement of a License, Certificate or Recognition 

_____ Application for Renewal of a License, Certificate or Recognition 

_____ Application for Advanced Practice Licensure or Prescriptive Authority Recognition 

_____ Other:____________________________________________________________ 
 


