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Oklahoma Board of Nursing 

2915 N. Classen Boulevard, Suite 524 

Oklahoma City, OK  73106 

(405) 962-1800 

www.ok.gov/nursing 

 

 

INSTRUCTIONS for REINSTATEMENT or  

RETURN to ACTIVE STATUS of RN or LPN LICENSE 
 

Application fee = $115.00 

 

Use this application if: 

 You have been previously licensed at the same level in Oklahoma; and 

 Your RN/LPN license is currently lapsed, inactive, suspended, voluntarily surrendered, or 

revoked. 

 

Persons employed in nursing WITHOUT a valid Oklahoma nursing license are notified to cease 

employment in nursing immediately until a valid nursing license is issued.  Continued employment in 

nursing WITHOUT a valid nursing license will be considered in violation of the provisions of the 

Oklahoma Nursing Practice Act.  Orientation to an RN/LPN position is considered nursing practice 

and requires a current Oklahoma nursing license. 

 

PLEASE READ THESE INSTRUCTIONS CAREFULLY 

BEFORE COMPLETING THE APPLICATION 

 
APPLICATIONS ARE AVAILABLE FOR SUBMISSION ONLINE THROUGH 

https://www.ok.gov/nursing/licensing/app/index.php.   

A paper copy may be requested by the individual applicant by submitting a written request for such to 

the Board office.  The applicant must include a postage-paid ($1.06 postage cost) 8 ½ x 11 inch return 

envelope for Board staff to return an application. 

 

Forms referenced may be found in the Forms / Applications link on the Board’s website. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

   

 
 

 

 

 

 

http://www.ok.gov/nursing
https://www.ok.gov/nursing/licensing/app/index.php
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REQUIREMENTS for REINSTATING or RETURNING your 

LICENSE to ACTIVE STATUS 
 

Verification of citizenship status:  State law requires the Board of Nursing to issue a license only to 

U.S. citizens, nationals and legal permanent resident aliens. Qualified alien applicants must present, in 

person, valid documentary evidence of: 

1. A valid, unexpired immigrant  or nonimmigrant visa status for admission into the U.S.; 

2. A pending or approved application for asylum in the U.S.; 

3. Admission into the U.S. in refugee status; 

4. A pending or approved application for temporary protected status in the U.S.; 

5. Approved deferred action status; or 

6. A pending application for adjustment of status to legal permanent residence status or 

conditional resident status. 

Applicants in the above six categories will only be eligible to receive a license card that is valid for the 

time period of their authorized stay in the U.S., or if there is no date of end to the time period of their 

authorized stay, for one year.  The license card is required to indicate that it is temporary.  The 

information will be verified through the Systematic Alien Verification for Entitlements (SAVE) 

Program, operated by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security.   

 

Verification of continuing qualifications for practice:  

  

a. If your nursing license has not been in an active status for less than two (2) years, you 

must demonstrate continued qualifications for practice through completion of one or more of the 

following requirements within the last two (2) years prior to receipt of the completed application in the 

Board office: 

 (1) Verify employment in a position that requires a nurse license at the appropriate  

  level with verification of at least 520 work hours; or 

 (2) Verify the completion of at least twenty-four (24) contact hours of continuing  

  education applicable to nursing practice; or 

 (3) Verify current certification in a nursing specialty area; or 

 (4) Verify completion of a Board-approved refresher course; or 

 (5) Verify completion of at least six (6) academic semester credit hours of nursing  

  coursework at the licensee’s current level of licensure or higher. 

 

b. If your nursing license has not been in an active status for more than two (2) years, you 

must demonstrate continued qualifications for practice through completion of one of the following 

requirements within the last two (2) years prior to receipt of the completed application in the Board 

office: 

(1) Submission of an official transcript or certificate of completion verifying completion of 

an Oklahoma Board of Nursing refresher course with content consistent with Board 

policy (see Refresher Course Policy on website:  www.ok.gov/nursing; or 

(2) Successfully pass the National Council Licensure Examination for Registered 

Nurses/Licensed Practical Nurses (according to the level of licensure); or 

(3) Submission of an official transcript verifying successful completion of at least six 

academic semester credit hours (or 105 contact hours for LPNs enrolled in practical 

nursing courses) of nursing courses which include classroom and clinical instruction at 

the appropriate educational level; or 

(4) Present evidence of licensure as a Registered Nurse / Licensed Practical Nurse in 

another state, territory or country with employment in a position that requires nursing 

licensure with verification of at least 520 work hours during the past two (2) years 

preceding receipt of the request for return to active status in the Board office. 
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Review of criminal charges, disciplinary action, or judicial declaration of incompetence: 

Applicants for reinstatement/return to active status who have ever been summoned, arrested, taken into 

custody, indicted, convicted or tried for, or charged with, or pleaded guilty to, the violation of any law 

or ordinance or the commission of any misdemeanor or felony, or requested to appear before any 

prosecuting attorney or investigative agency in any matter; or have ever had disciplinary action taken 

against a nursing license, certification or registration, any professional or occupational license, 

registration, or certification and/or any application for a nursing or professional or occupational 

license, registration, or certification or if there is currently any investigation of your nursing license, 

registration, or certification; and/or any professional or occupational license, registration, or 

certification; and/or any application for a nursing and/or professional or occupational license, 

registration, or certification in any state, territory or country, or have ever been judicially declared 

incompetent are required to notify the Oklahoma Board of Nursing if the incident has not previously 

been reported in writing to the Board.  A “report in writing” means that the applicant/licensee provided 

a signed and dated description stating in his/her own words the date, location, and circumstances of the 

incident, and if applicable, the resulting action taken by the court, agency, or disciplinary board.  The 

report may be in the form of a letter or a statement in the provided space on the application.  The report 

must be accompanied by certified court records or a board order.  A verbal report does not constitute a 

“report in writing”.  A written report not accompanied by a full set of certified court records or the 

board order(s) does not constitute a “report in writing”.  Failure to report such action is a violation of 

the Oklahoma Nursing Practice Act.    

  

Special instructions for members of the military:   

 

 Members of the National Guard or Reserves:  Any license held by a member of the National 

Guard or reserve component of the armed forces that expires while the member is on active 

duty shall be extended until ninety (90) days after the member is discharged from active duty 

status [O.S. 72 §48.2].  If you are a member of the National Guard and your license expired 

while you were on active duty, please submit, within 90 days of discharge, a request for 

renewal of your license, with copies of the official orders calling you to active duty and the 

official orders discharging you from active duty. 

 

 Active duty military personnel:   Effective November 1, 2012, any license held by a deployed 

member of the military in good standing at the time of deployment may be extended with no 

fee [O.S. 59 §4100.6].  If this applies to you, please submit, within one (1) year of your return 

from deployment, a written request for extension of your license with no fee, with copies of the 

official orders of deployment and the official orders identifying the date of your return.      

 

 

INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETION OF THE APPLICATION 
 

1. Completion of application:  The application should be completed and submitted online on the 

Board’s website:  https://www.ok.gov/nursing/licensing/app/index.php.   

You must complete all sections of the application using your name as it appears on your 

license card.   

 If you have had a name change since your license has not been in an active status, you 

must submit a Name Change Request Form, fee and the required supporting 

documentation.  You may obtain the Name Change Request form on the Board’s 

website, by clicking on the link to “Forms/Applications” or at this link: 

http://www.ok.gov/nursing/namechange.pdf   

 

https://www.ok.gov/nursing/licensing/app/index.php
http://www.ok.gov/nursing/namechange.pdf
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You must provide a Social Security number on the application.  This information is 

mandatory, pursuant to 56 O.S. § 240.21A. 

 

If submitting a hard copy application, you may NOT use correction fluid on the 

application.  When you are finished entering your information, sign the application LEGIBLY, 

using your full legal name. 

 

Fee:  Payment can be made in the form of VISA, MasterCard or electronic fund transfer when 

completing the application online in the License Registration link.   

 If a hard copy application is submitted, attach to your application to the Board office the 

appropriate fee payable by cashiers check, money order, or personal check.  If the fee is not 

submitted with the application or if the fee is incorrect, the application will be immediately 

returned without review.  Fees submitted are not refundable 

 

2. Citizenship:   

a. U.S. Citizens, U.S. Nationals, and Legal Permanent Resident Aliens:   

If your license changed to a non-active status on or before November 1, 2007, you must 

complete an Evidence of Status Form Part A.  If you are a U.S. citizen, U.S. national, or 

legal permanent resident alien, you must also submit a photocopy of one of the 

documents listed under “Acceptable Documents to Establish Evidence of Citizenship” 

on the Evidence of Status Form.   

 

If your license changed to a non-active status after November 1, 2007, you must 

complete the Affidavit of Citizenship Status unless you have previously submitted one.  

 

b. Qualified aliens:  According to State law, if you are a qualified alien, you must bring 

in person the Evidence of Status Form to the Board office along with the original 

documents that support your qualified alien status, as shown on the Evidence of Status 

Part B Form.  At the Board office, a staff member will copy your qualified alien status 

documentation and will notarize the Evidence of Status Form.   

 

3. Criminal Charges, Disciplinary Action, or Judicial Declaration of Mental Incompetence: If 

you answer “yes” to the criminal charges, discipline, or competency questions on the 

application, you must submit a statement on the application form, describing the date, 

location and circumstances of the incident, and the resulting action taken by the court or 

disciplinary board.  If you have more than one incident you are reporting, you must speak to 

every case/charge that has been filed.  If you have reported a history of being summoned, 

arrested, taken into custody, indicted, convicted or tried for, or charged with, or pleaded guilty 

to, the violation of any law or ordinance or the commission of any misdemeanor or felony, or 

being  requested to appear before any prosecuting attorney or investigative agency in any 

matter, you must submit certified copies of the: 

 Information Sheet (brief summary of the incident prepared by the court) 

 Affidavit of Probable Cause, Charges (listing of the charges brought against you) 

 Judgment and Sentencing (findings of the court and sentence imposed) 

 verification that sentencing requirements are complete.   

 

Certified copies are copies of court records obtained from the courthouse in the county/city where 

the action occurred, dated and signed by the court clerk, and affixed with the court seal.  You may 

obtain these documents from the courthouse in the county/city or in the federal court of the district 

in which the court action occurred. If no records are found, have the agency provide a certified 

letter stating no records were found in a search from the date of offense through current.   Internet 
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court documents (such as OCIS case reports) and faxed records will not be accepted.  Please 

note that you must report all arrests and/or charges that have been brought against you.     

 

If you have reported a history of disciplinary action taken against a nursing license, certification or 

registration, any professional or occupational license, registration, or certification and/or any 

application for a nursing or professional or occupational license, registration, or certification or if there 

is currently any investigation of your nursing license, registration, or certification; and/or any 

professional or occupational license, registration, or certification; and/or any application for a nursing 

and/or professional or occupational license, registration, or certification in any state, territory or 

country, please request that a certified copy of the Board order be submitted directly to the Board 

office from the licensing agency.  If you have reported a history of judicial declaration of mental 

incompetence, please contact the Board office for further instructions.   

 

4. Verification of continuing qualifications for practice:   
a. If your license has been in a non-active status for less than two (2) years, you must 

establish continuing qualifications for practice to be eligible for reinstatement/return to active 

status.  You may establish continuing qualifications for practice through one of the following: 

 If you have worked at the applicable level of licensure in another state, territory, or 

country for a minimum of 520 hours in the last two years, please request that your 

employer submit an Employment Verification Form directly to the Board.  Each 

employer that is providing verification must complete and submit a separate Form.  

Please note that this Form must be completed and signed by an 

administrator/supervisor at the place of employment, or by an authorized 

individual in the Human Resources Department 
 Submit evidence of completion of at least twenty-four (24) contact hours of continuing 

education applicable to nursing practice  

 Submit evidence of current certification in a nursing specialty area 

 Submit an official transcript or certificate of completion for an Oklahoma Board of 

Nursing approved refresher course.  A list of Board-approved refresher courses is 

available on the Board’s website:  www.ok.gov/nursing.   

 Submit an official transcript documenting at least six (6) academic semester credit hours 

of nursing coursework earned in a board-approved nursing education program 

 

b. If your license has been in a non-active status for more than two (2) years, you 

must establish continuing qualifications for practice to be eligible for reinstatement/return to 

active status.  You may establish continuing qualifications for practice through one of the 

following:   

 If you have worked at the applicable level of licensure in another state, territory, or 

country for a minimum of 520 hours in the last two years, please request that your 

employer submit an Employment Verification Form directly to the Board.  Each 

employer that is providing verification must complete and submit a separate Form.  

Please note that this Form must be completed and signed by an 

administrator/supervisor at the place of employment, or by an authorized 

individual in the Human Resources Department.   
 If you have not practiced in a position requiring a nursing license for the minimum 

number of hours in the last two years prior to submitting an application for 

reinstatement or return to active status, you must provide an official transcript or 

certificate of completion for an Oklahoma Board of Nursing approved refresher course 

or an official transcript documenting hours earned in a board-approved nursing 

education program.  A list of Board-approved refresher courses is available on the 

Board’s website:  www.ok.gov/nursing.   

http://www.ok.gov/nursing
http://www.ok.gov/nursing
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 If you have not worked, completed a board-approved refresher course, or completed the 

required hours in a nursing education program, please note on the application for 

reinstatement or return to active status that you wish to re-take the NCLEX examination 

to establish continuing qualifications for practice.   

 

5. Employment in a nursing position:  If you answer “yes” to questions in Section II regarding 

employment in a position requiring an Oklahoma nursing license, please request that your 

employer submit an Employment Verification Form directly to the Board.  Each employer that 

is providing verification must complete and submit a separate Form.  Please note that this 

Form must be completed and signed by an administrator/supervisor at the place of 

employment, or by an authorized individual in the Human Resources Department.  It is 

essential that the date you indicated that you last worked in a position requiring a nursing 

license matches the Employment Verification Form.  Please check with your employer if you 

are unsure of the date you last worked in a position requiring an Oklahoma nursing license.    

 

GENERAL INFORMATION 
 

You are required to notify the Board in writing of any address changes occurring during the application 

process.  This notification must be signed and submitted in person, by mail, or by facsimile. 

 

Your application to the Board is valid for one year after receipt.  After that time, a new application and 

fee must be submitted.  Applications are processed in the order they are received. You may view 

average processing times of a completed application on the Board’s website in the Agency Data / 

Statistics / Quarterly Statistics link.   Repeated telephone calls to check on the status of your 

application will delay, rather than facilitate, the processing of your application.  Fees submitted are 

not refundable. 

 

In accordance with Oklahoma law (59 O.S. §567.7 (E)), the Executive Director shall suspend the 

license or certificate of a person who submits a check, money draft, or similar instrument for payment 

of a fee which is not honored by the financial institution named.  The suspension becomes effective ten 

(10) days following delivery by certified mail of written notice of the dishonor and the impending 

suspension to the person’s address on file.  Upon notification of suspension, the person may reinstate 

the authorization to practice upon payment of the fees and any and all costs associated with notice and 

collection.  The suspension shall be exempt from the Administrative Procedures Act.  
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COMMON MISTAKES that  

DELAY APPLICATION PROCESSING 
 

 Leaving application questions incomplete or unanswered, or using correction fluid on the 

application 

 

 Failing to provide the full name under which you were licensed (with the notation “NMN” 

if there is no middle name) 

 

 Failing to submit an Evidence of Status Form / Affidavit of Citizenship Status and 

supporting documentation if needed 

 

 Failing to request that the employer submit an Employment Verification Form directly to 

the Board office if needed 

 

 Last date worked on the application does not match last date worked on the Employment 

Verification Form 

 

 Failing to include contact information for your current or most recent employer on the 

application 

 

 Failing to provide a complete description and documentation regarding history of 

criminal charges, disciplinary action, or judicial declaration of incompetence 
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INFORMATION TO BE ADDED TO APPLICATION 

 

DATE________________  SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER_______________ 

 

NAME ON APPLICATION_________________________________________________ 

 

TYPE OF APPLICATION ON FILE (Please check one): 

_____ Application or Rewrite Application for Licensure by Examination 

_____ Application for Licensure by Endorsement 

_____ Application for Reinstatement of a License, Certificate or Recognition 

_____ Application for Renewal of a License, Certificate or Recognition 

_____ Application for Advanced Practice Licensure or Prescriptive Authority Recognition 

_____ Other:____________________________________________________________ 

 

----------------------------------------------(DETACH HERE)--------------------------------------- 

 

INFORMATION TO BE ADDED TO APPLICATION 

 

DATE________________  SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER_______________ 

 

NAME ON APPLICATION_________________________________________________ 

 

TYPE OF APPLICATION ON FILE (Please check one): 

_____ Application or Rewrite Application for Licensure by Examination 

_____ Application for Licensure by Endorsement 

_____ Application for Reinstatement of a License, Certificate or Recognition 

_____ Application for Renewal of a License, Certificate or Recognition 

_____ Application for Advanced Practice Licensure or Prescriptive Authority Recognition 

_____ Other:____________________________________________________________ 

 

-------------------------------------------------(DETACH HERE)------------------------------------ 

 

INFORMATION TO BE ADDED TO APPLICATION 

 

DATE________________  SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER_______________ 

 

NAME ON APPLICATION_________________________________________________ 

 

TYPE OF APPLICATION ON FILE (Please check one): 

_____ Application or Rewrite Application for Licensure by Examination 

_____ Application for Licensure by Endorsement 

_____ Application for Reinstatement of a License, Certificate or Recognition 

_____ Application for Renewal of a License, Certificate or Recognition 

_____ Application for Advanced Practice Licensure or Prescriptive Authority Recognition 

_____ Other:____________________________________________________________ 

 


