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Oklahoma Board of Nursing 

2915 N. Classen Boulevard, Suite 524 

Oklahoma City, OK  73106 

(405) 962-1800 

www.ok.gov/nursing 

 

 

INSTRUCTIONS for LICENSURE BY EXAMINATION 
 

APPLICATION FEE - $85.00 

 

Use this application if you: 

 Are NOT licensed at the same level in another state, U.S. territory, or country; and 

 Were educated in a nursing program approved by a member board jurisdiction in the 

United States or U.S. territory; and 

 Have NOT previously held a license (at the same level) in Oklahoma. 
 

PLEASE READ THESE INSTRUCTIONS CAREFULLY  

BEFORE COMPLETING THE APPLICATION.   

In addition to completing the application form, you will need to complete an NCLEX registration, 

which may be completed on the NCLEX website:  www.vue.com/nclex. 

 

APPLICATIONS ARE AVAILABLE FOR SUBMISSION ONLINE THROUGH 

https://www.ok.gov/nursing/licensing/app/index.php.   

A paper copy may be requested by the individual applicant by submitting a written request for such to 

the Board office.  The applicant must include a postage-paid ($1.06 postage cost) 8 ½ x 11 inch return 

envelope for Board staff to return an application. 

 
Forms referenced can be found in the Forms / Applications link on the Board’s website. 

 

REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSURE IN OKLAHOMA 
 

Age:  The applicant for licensure must be a minimum of eighteen (18) years of age. 

 

Verification of citizenship status:  State law requires the Board of Nursing to issue a license only to 

U.S. citizens, nationals and legal permanent resident aliens; and to qualified alien applicants who 

present, in person, valid documentary evidence of: 

1. A valid, unexpired immigrant  or nonimmigrant visa status for admission into the U.S.; 

2. A pending or approved application for asylum in the U.S.; 

3. Admission into the U.S. in refugee status; 

4. A pending or approved application for temporary protected status in the U.S.; 

5. Approved deferred action status; or 

6. A pending application for adjustment of status to legal permanent residence status or 

conditional resident status. 

Applicants in the above six categories will only be eligible to receive a license card that is valid for the 

time period of their authorized stay in the U.S., or if there is no date of end to the time period of their 

authorized stay, for one year.  The license card is required to indicate that it is temporary.  The 

information will be verified through the Systematic Alien Verification for Entitlements (SAVE) 

Program, operated by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security.   

http://www.ok.gov/nursing
https://www.ok.gov/nursing/licensing/app/index.php
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Graduation from a state Board-approved program of registered or practical nursing:  You must 

be a graduate of a state Board-approved program of registered or practical nursing.  An official 

transcript from the nursing education program must be submitted directly from the nursing education 

program.  The nursing education program you attended must have included theory and clinical 

experience in the following areas: 

 Care of the adult 

 Care of children 

 Maternal-newborn nursing 

 Psychiatric-mental health nursing (Exception:  psychiatric clinical experience is not 

required for practical nurses applicants) 

 

Completion of the licensure examination:  Once all other requirements for licensure have been met, 

you will be made eligible to take the NCLEX-RN or NCLEX-PN licensure examination.  In order to be 

made eligible, you must have registered with the testing service (www.vue.com/nclex). 

 

Review of criminal history:  

Effective January 1, 2013, state law (59 O.S. § 567.18.B.) requires each applicant for licensure to have 

a fingerprint-based background check completed not more than ninety (90) days old at the time of 

submission of the application for licensure.  The background check consists of fingerprint-based 

searches of the Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation (OSBI) and Federal Bureau of Investigation 

(FBI) Criminal History Record Information databases and name index searches of computerized 

databases containing criminal history records.  Please see the “Instructions” section for further 

information on obtaining a fingerprint-based background check. 

 

In addition to the background check,  applicants for licensure  who have ever been summoned, arrested, 

taken into custody, indicted, convicted or tried for, or charged with, or pleaded guilty to, the violation 

of any law or ordinance or the commission of any misdemeanor or felony, or requested to appear 

before any prosecuting attorney or investigative agency in any matter; or have ever had disciplinary 

action taken against a nursing license, certification or registration, any professional or occupational 

license, registration, or certification and/or any application for a nursing or professional or occupational 

license, registration, or certification or if there is currently any investigation of your nursing license, 

registration, or certification; and/or any professional or occupational license, registration, or 

certification; and/or any application for a nursing and/or professional or occupational license, 

registration, or certification in any state, territory or country, or have ever been judicially declared 

incompetent are required to notify the Oklahoma Board of Nursing in writing.  A “report in writing” 

means that the applicant/licensee provided a signed and dated description stating in his/her own words 

the date, location, and circumstances of the incident, and if applicable, the resulting action taken by the 

court, agency, or disciplinary board.  The report may be in the form of a letter or a statement in the 

provided space on the application.  The report must be accompanied by certified court records or a 

board order.  A verbal report does not constitute a “report in writing”.  A written report not 

accompanied by a full set of certified court records or the board order(s) does not constitute a “report in 

writing”.  Failure to report such action is a violation of the Oklahoma Nursing Practice Act.   

 

An applicant for a license to practice as a Registered Nurse or Licensed Practical Nurse must submit to 

the Oklahoma Board of Nursing “certified written evidence that the applicant has never been convicted 

in this state, the United States or another state of any felony, unless five (5) years have elapsed since 

the date of the criminal conviction or the termination of any probation or other requirements imposed 

on the applicant by the sentencing court, whichever shall last occur, or a presidential or gubernatorial 

pardon for the criminal offense has been received” [59 O.S. § 567.5].  Therefore, applicants for 

www.vue.com/nclex
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licensure in Oklahoma with one or more felony convictions cannot apply for licensure for at least 

five years after completion of all sentencing terms, including probation and suspended sentences, 

unless a presidential or gubernatorial pardon is received.     

 

 

INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETION OF THE APPLICATION 
 

It is recommended that you submit your application to the Oklahoma Board of Nursing approximately 

two months (but no more than four months) before graduation.  This will ensure adequate time for 

processing.   

 

1. Completion of application:  The application should be completed and submitted online on the 

Board’s website:  https://www.ok.gov/nursing/licensing/app/index.php. You must complete all 

modules of the application with your full legal name which is the name on your birth certificate 

and any subsequent legal name changes.  Please indicate “NMN” if you do not have a middle 

name.  You must provide a Social Security number on the application.  This information is 

mandatory, pursuant to 56 O.S. § 240.21A, for administration of the tax laws of the State of 

Oklahoma.   

 

If you are submitting a hard copy application, you may NOT use correction fluid on the 

application.  When you are finished entering your information sign the application LEGIBLY, 

using your full legal name.   

 

 The Board’s newsletters are now provided by electronic mail, so it is recommended you 

provide an e-mail address on the application. 

 

2. Citizenship:  All applicants for licensure must complete the appropriate Evidence of Status Form.   

 

If you are a U.S. citizen, U.S. national, or legal permanent resident alien, you must submit a 

photocopy of one of the documents listed under “Acceptable Documents to Establish Evidence 

of Citizenship” on the Evidence of Status Part A Form.   

 

According to State law, if you are a qualified alien, you must bring in person the Evidence 

of Status Form to the Board office along with the original documents that support your 

qualified alien status, as shown on the Evidence of Status Part B Form.  At the Board office, a 

staff member will copy your qualified alien status documentation and will notarize the Evidence 

of Status Form.          

 

 

3. Background Check:  Each applicant must provide fingerprint images to be used for the 

purpose of permitting a state and national criminal history records search through the OSBI and 

FBI.  The criminal history records search must be conducted through the Board’s vendor, L-1 

(MorphoTrust) not more than ninety (90) days prior to receipt of the application in the Board 

office.  The results of the search are provided directly to the Board office by the OSBI usually 

within one to two weeks.  Procedures for changing, correcting or updating OSBI and / or FBI 

results are set forth in Title 28, C.F.R., §16.34 and will be furnished as needed. 

 

 Option 1:  If you have an Oklahoma mailing address, you will need to go to an 

IdentoGo center sponsored by L-1 (MorphoTrust) located within the state to provide 

https://www.ok.gov/nursing/licensing/app/index.php
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fingerprints electronically. These sites are available by appointment only. You must visit 

the following website to schedule an appointment: www.identogo.com, or you must 

call (877) 219-0197 to make an appointment. Payment can be made during your 

appointment or online when scheduling.  Please note that your fingerprints must be 

obtained electronically only at an IdentoGO (L-1/ MorphoTrust) site.     

 

   Option 2:  If you have an out-of-state mailing address, Board staff will mail you 

specific fingerprint cards that you must take to a local law enforcement agency to obtain 

the fingerprints.  An addressed envelope will be provided as the fingerprint cards must 

be mailed by the law enforcement agency directly to L-1 (MorphoTrust). You are 

responsible for the postage and the costs associated with obtaining your fingerprints.  

Please note that you must wait to receive the specific coded fingerprint cards from 

the Board office prior to obtaining your fingerprints.    OR  If you are in Oklahoma, 

you may follow the instructions for Option 1 above. 

 

4. Criminal Charges, Disciplinary Action, or Judicial Declaration of Mental Incompetence:  If 

you answer “yes” to the criminal charge, discipline, or competency questions on the application, 

you must submit a statement on the application form, describing the date, location and 

circumstances of the incident, and the resulting action taken by the court or disciplinary 

board.  If you have more than one incident you are reporting, you must speak to every 

case/charge that has been filed.  If you have reported a history of being summoned, arrested, 

taken into custody, indicted, convicted or tried for, or charged with, or pleaded guilty to, the 

violation of any law or ordinance or the commission of any misdemeanor or felony, or being  

requested to appear before any prosecuting attorney or investigative agency in any matter, you 

must submit certified copies of the: 

 Information Sheet (brief summary of the incident prepared by the court) 

 Affidavit of Probable Cause, Charges (listing of the charges brought against you) 

 Judgment and Sentencing (findings of the court and sentence imposed) 

 verification that sentencing requirements are complete.   

 

Certified copies are copies of court records obtained from the courthouse in the county/city 

where the action occurred, dated and signed by the court clerk, and affixed with the court seal.  

You may obtain these documents from the courthouse in the county/city or in the federal court 

of the district in which the court action occurred. If no records are found, have the agency 

provide a certified letter stating no records were found in a search from the date of offense 

through current.   Internet court documents (such as OCIS case reports) and faxed records 

will not be accepted.  Please note that you must report all arrests and/or charges that have 

been brought against you.     

 

If you have reported a history of disciplinary action taken against a nursing license, certification 

or registration, any professional or occupational license, registration, or certification and/or any 

application for a nursing or professional or occupational license, registration, or certification or 

if there is currently any investigation of your nursing license, registration, or certification; 

and/or any professional or occupational license, registration, or certification; and/or any 

application for a nursing and/or professional or occupational license, registration, or 

certification in any state, territory or country, please request that a certified copy of the Board 

order be submitted directly to the Board office from the licensing agency.  If you have reported 

a history of judicial declaration of mental incompetence, please contact the Board office for 

further instructions 

http://www.identogo.com/
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The Board recommends you submit this material two to four months prior to graduation. 
 

5. Fee:  Payment can be made in the form of VISA, MasterCard or electronic fund transfer when 

completing the application online in the License Registration link.   

 If a hard copy application is submitted, attach to your application a money order, 

certified check or cashier’s check in the amount of $85.00 payable to the Oklahoma 

Board of Nursing.   Personal checks will not be accepted.  If the fee is not submitted 

with the application or if the fee is incorrect, the application will be immediately 

returned without review.  Fees are not refundable. 

 

TRANSCRIPT 
 

An official transcript should be submitted from your school after you have graduated. Many of the 

nursing education programs automatically send graduate transcripts to the Oklahoma Board of Nursing 

as a courtesy to their graduates; however, you will need to check with the director of your program on 

the school’s policy.  Please ensure that the transcript includes the conferral date of the degree earned.    

 

Graduates from out-of-state programs should request that the school send an official copy of the 

transcript to the Oklahoma Board of Nursing.  The Board must evaluate the curriculum provided in the 

out-of-state program to ensure that it meets the state’s curricular requirements.  Out-of-state candidates 

must also submit course descriptions for nursing and related courses for evaluation.  The course 

descriptions must be from the time you were enrolled in the program and may be obtained from the 

school’s catalog or course syllabi.  If the course descriptions from your school do not verify the 

required curriculum, additional documentation from your program will be required.    

 

NCLEX REGISTRATION 

 

The National Council Licensure Examination (NCLEX) is administered by Pearson VUE and delivered 

through Pearson Professional Centers.  In order to be eligible to take the examination, you must register 

with Pearson VUE.  You may register with the testing service on their website:  www.vue.com/nclex.  

or at 866-496-2539.  When registering, you must provide the testing service your email address. 

 

You must be registered with Pearson VUE to receive an Authorization to Test letter (ATT), which 

is issued by Pearson VUE after your application has been approved by the Oklahoma Board of 

Nursing.  Once you are registered with NCLEX, your NCLEX registration will remain effective for 

one year, awaiting the approval of the Board, or until you are approved and take the examination, 

whichever comes first.  After the Board approves your registration and you have received your ATT, 

you have 90 days to schedule and take the examination.   

 It is recommended that you schedule an appointment immediately upon receiving the 

ATT to ensure that you are able to get your choice of dates and times.   

 You must take the examination within 90 days from the date the ATT was issued or you 

will forfeit your fee and have to re-register.   

 Instructions for scheduling an appointment and information regarding test center 

locations are included with the ATT letter.   

 Please note current requirements for documents that you must take to the testing center 

on your test day as found on the NCLEX website.   

 

http://www.vue.com/nclex
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GENERAL INFORMATION 
 

Test results will NOT be provided over the telephone by the Oklahoma Board of Nursing.   

 

You are required to notify the Board in writing of any address changes occurring during the registration 

and testing process.  This notification must be signed and submitted in person, by mail, or by facsimile. 

 

Your application to the Board for licensure is valid for one year after receipt.  After that time, a new 

application and fee must be submitted.  If you take and fail the examination, a rewrite application and 

fee must be submitted.  You may view average processing times of a completed application on our 

website in the Agency Data / Statistics / Quarterly Statistics link. Repeated telephone calls to check on 

the status of your application will delay, rather than facilitate, the processing of your application. 

Applications are processed in the order they are received.   

 

Once licensed, the License Verification link on the Board’s website will be the first place your new 

license will be noted. 

 

Registered Nurse licenses expire the last day of the licensee’s birth month in even-numbered years, and 

Licensed Practical Nurse licenses expire the last day of the licensee’s birth month in odd-numbered 

years following the date of issuance. The application fee includes the processing of your application 

and licensure through the current renewal period.  Fees are not pro-rated and are non-refundable. 

 

In accordance with Oklahoma law (59 O.S. § 567.7 E), the Executive Director shall suspend the license 

or certificate of a person who submits a check, money draft, or similar instrument for payment of a fee 

which is not honored by the financial institution named.  The suspension becomes effective ten (10) 

days following delivery by certified mail of written notice of the dishonor and the impending 

suspension to the person’s address on file.  Upon notification of suspension, the person may reinstate 

the authorization to practice upon payment of the fees and any and all costs associated with notice and 

collection.  The suspension shall be exempt from the Administrative Procedures Act.  

 

 

INFORMATION ON TIME LIMIT AFTER GRADUATION  

TO TAKE AND PASS THE NCLEX 
 

All applicants for licensure by examination must submit a completed application, transcript, and fee to 

the Board and a completed registration form and fee to the authorized testing service within two years 

of completion of the nursing education program.  If more than two years has elapsed, you must 

complete additional education as follows: 

 

1) Successfully complete a Board-approved refresher course in accordance with the Board’s 

policy; or 

2) Successfully complete nursing didactic coursework and faculty-supervised clinical experience 

in a board-approved nursing education program at the appropriate education level, to include at 

least 80 hours in classroom and skills laboratory review and at least 80 hours participating in 

patient care activities in the clinical setting  

 

 After completion of the required additional education, the applicant will have two additional 

years to take and pass the NCLEX examination [OAC 485:10-7-1 (e) and 485:10-9-1 (e)]. 
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If it has been more than two years since you graduated from your nursing education program, you must 

submit evidence of either completing a Board-approved refresher course or coursework/clinical 

experience in a nursing education program, as outlined above.  The following evidence will be 

accepted: 

 

1) An official transcript or original copy of a certificate of completion identifying successful  

 completion from a Board-approved refresher course 

2) An official transcript from an educational institution offering a board-approved nursing  

 education program at the same educational level as the program you originally completed,  

 documenting at least 80 contact hours of theory/skills laboratory coursework and 80 contact  

 hours in clinical coursework.  Credit hours will be converted to contact hours using the   

 following ratios: 15 contact hours per credit hour for theory, 30 contact hours per credit hour  

 for skills laboratory, and 45 contact hours per credit hour for clinical coursework. 

. 

A list of nursing education programs and refresher courses approved by the Oklahoma Board of 

Nursing is available on the Board’s website:  www.ok.gov/nursing.  Click on the link for “Education”.   

 

 

 

INFORMATION ON TIME LIMIT AFTER PREVIOUSLY PASSING 

THE NCLEX WITHOUT RESULTANT LICENSURE 
 

 

If more than two (2) years has elapsed since you successfully passed the NCLEX-RN / NCLEX-PN and 

did NOT obtain licensure as a Registered Nurse / Licensed Practical Nurse, you must complete 

additional education as follows: 

 

1) Successfully complete a Board-approved refresher course in accordance with the Board’s  

 policy; or 

 

2) Successfully complete nursing didactic coursework and faculty-supervised clinical experience  

 in a board-approved nursing education program at the appropriate education level, to include at  

 least 80 hours in classroom and skills laboratory review and at least 80 hours participating in  

 patient care activities in the clinical setting  

 

If it has been more than two (2) years since you passed the NCLEX, you must submit evidence of 

either completing a Board-approved refresher course or coursework/clinical experience in a nursing 

education program, as outlined above.  The following evidence will be accepted: 

 

1) An official transcript or original copy of a certificate of completion identifying successful  

 completion from a Board-approved refresher course; or 

 

2) An official transcript from an educational institution offering a board-approved nursing  

 education program at the same educational level as the program you originally completed,  

 documenting at least 80 contact hours of theory/skills laboratory coursework and 80 contact  

 hours in clinical coursework.  Credit hours will be converted to contact hours using the  

 following ratios: 15 contact hours per credit hour for theory, 30 contact hours per credit hour  

 for skills laboratory, and 45 contact hours per credit hour for clinical coursework 

 

http://www.ok.gov/nursing
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COMMON MISTAKES  

THAT DELAY APPLICATION PROCESSING 
 

 Failing to submit fingerprint images to be used for the purpose of permitting a state and 

national criminal background search  

 

 Leaving application questions incomplete or unanswered, or using correction fluid on the 

application 

 

 Failing to provide the full legal name and Social Security number on the application  

 

 Failing to provide license or certificate numbers, if  the applicant holds another health-

related license or certificate 

 

 Failing to submit an Evidence of Status Form and supporting documentation 

 

 Failing to request that an official transcript be submitted directly by the nursing education 

program 

 

 Having a different name on the application from the name on the transcript or testing service 

registration form 

 

 Not registering with the testing service for the examination 

 

 Failing to submit a degree plan and course descriptions for review (required only for students 

graduating from out-of-state programs) 
 

 Failing to provide a complete description and documentation regarding a history of criminal 

charges, disciplinary action, or judicial declaration of incompetence 
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INFORMATION TO BE ADDED TO APPLICATION 

 

DATE________________  SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER_______________ 

 

NAME ON APPLICATION_________________________________________________ 

 

TYPE OF APPLICATION ON FILE (Please check one): 

_____ Application or Rewrite Application for Licensure by Examination 

_____ Application for Licensure by Endorsement 

_____ Application for Reinstatement of a License, Certificate or Recognition 

_____ Application for Renewal of a License, Certificate or Recognition 

_____ Application for Advanced Practice Licensure or Prescriptive Authority Recognition 

_____ Other:____________________________________________________________ 

 

----------------------------------------------(DETACH HERE)--------------------------------------- 

 

INFORMATION TO BE ADDED TO APPLICATION 

 

DATE________________  SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER_______________ 

 

NAME ON APPLICATION_________________________________________________ 

 

TYPE OF APPLICATION ON FILE (Please check one): 

_____ Application or Rewrite Application for Licensure by Examination 

_____ Application for Licensure by Endorsement 

_____ Application for Reinstatement of a License, Certificate or Recognition 

_____ Application for Renewal of a License, Certificate or Recognition 

_____ Application for Advanced Practice Licensure or Prescriptive Authority Recognition 

_____ Other:____________________________________________________________ 

 

-------------------------------------------------(DETACH HERE)------------------------------------ 

 

INFORMATION TO BE ADDED TO APPLICATION 

 

DATE________________  SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER_______________ 

 

NAME ON APPLICATION_________________________________________________ 

 

TYPE OF APPLICATION ON FILE (Please check one): 

_____ Application or Rewrite Application for Licensure by Examination 

_____ Application for Licensure by Endorsement 

_____ Application for Reinstatement of a License, Certificate or Recognition 

_____ Application for Renewal of a License, Certificate or Recognition 

_____ Application for Advanced Practice Licensure or Prescriptive Authority Recognition 

_____ Other:____________________________________________________________ 

 


