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OKLAHOMA BOARD OF NURSING 
2915 N. Classen Boulevard, Suite 524 

Oklahoma City, OK 73106 
(405) 962-1800 

 
Licensure Requirements for Provision of Nursing Care by Telecommunications/Electronic 

Communications Position Statement 
 
 
Oklahoma nursing licensure is required for nurses providing nursing care by means of 
telecommunications/electronic communications to patients physically located in Oklahoma. 
 
Statutory References: 
O.S. 59 § 567.2 A.1. 
“The education, certification and licensure of registered and licensed practical nurses, or 
advanced unlicensed assistive persons, and the practice of registered or practical nursing or 
advanced unlicensed assistance in this state is hereby declared to affect the public health, safety 
and welfare and, in the public interest, is therefore subject to regulation and control by the 
Oklahoma Board of Nursing.” 
 
O.S. 59 § 567.5.C.   
“Any person who holds a license to practice as a registered nurse in this state shall have the right 
to use both the title “Registered Nurse” and the abbreviation “R.N.”  No other person shall 
assume such title or use such abbreviation, or any other words, letters, signs or figures to indicate 
that the person using the same is a registered nurse.  Any individual doing so shall be guilty of a 
misdemeanor, which shall be punishable, upon conviction, by imprisonment in the county jail for 
not more than one (1) year or by a fine of not less than One Hundred Dollars ($100.00) nor more 
than One Thousand Dollars ($1,000.00), or by both such imprisonment and fine for each 
offense.” 
 
O.S. 59 § 567.6.D.  
 “Any person who holds a license to practice as a licensed practical nurse in this state shall have 
the right to use both the title “Licensed Practical Nurse” and the abbreviation “L.P.N.”  No other 
person shall assume such title or use such abbreviation, or any other words, letters, signs or 
figures to indicate that the person using the same is a licensed practical nurse.  Any individual 
doing so shall be guilty of a misdemeanor, which shall be punishable, upon conviction, by 
imprisonment in the county jail for not more than one (1) year or by a fine of not less than One 
Hundred Dollars ($100.00) nor more than One Thousand Dollars ($1,000.00), or by both such 
imprisonment and fine for each offense.” 
 
O.S. 59 § 567.14.A.   
“No person shall practice or offer to practice registered nursing, practical nursing, or advanced 
practice nursing in this state unless the person has complied with the provisions of the Oklahoma 
Nursing Practice Act.” 


