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Oklahoma Board of Nursing 

2915 N. Classen Blvd., Suite 524 

Oklahoma City, OK  73106 

(405) 962-1800 

www.ok.gov/nursing 

 

 

INSTRUCTIONS for 

ADVANCED UNLICENSED ASSISTANT CERTIFICATION 
 

APPLICATION FEE - $20.00 

 

Use this application if you: 

 Have completed an advanced unlicensed assistant educational program; or  

 Have already submitted a Request for AUA Equivalency Evaluation and been 

approved. 

 

PLEASE READ THESE INSTRUCTIONS CAREFULLY  

BEFORE COMPLETING THE APPLICATION. 

 
APPLICATIONS ARE AVAILABLE FOR SUBMISSION ONLINE THROUGH 

https://www.ok.gov/nursing/licensing/app/index.php.   

A paper copy may be requested by the individual applicant by submitting a written request for such to the Board 

office.  The applicant must include a postage-paid ($1.06 postage cost) 8 ½ x 11 inch return envelope for Board staff 

to return an application. 

 

Forms referenced may be found in the Forms / Applications link on the Board’s website.   

 

REQUIREMENTS FOR AUA CERTIFICATION IN OKLAHOMA 
 

Age:  The applicant for AUA certification must be a minimum of eighteen (18) years of age. 

 

Verification of citizenship status:  State law requires the Board of Nursing to issue a certificate 

only to U.S. citizens, nationals and legal permanent resident aliens; and qualified alien applicants 

who present, in person, valid documentary evidence of: 

1. A valid, unexpired immigrant  or nonimmigrant visa status for admission into the U.S.; 

2. A pending or approved application for asylum in the U.S.; 

3. Admission into the U.S. in refugee status; 

4. A pending or approved application for temporary protected status in the U.S.; 

5. Approved deferred action status; or 

6. A pending application for adjustment of status to legal permanent residence status or 

conditional resident status. 

Applicants in the above six categories will only be eligible to receive a certification card that is 

valid for the time period of their authorized stay in the U.S., or if there is no date of end to the 

time period of their authorized stay, for one year.  The certification card is required to indicate 

that it is temporary.  The information will be verified through the Systematic Alien Verification 

for Entitlements (SAVE) Program, operated by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security. 

 

http://www.ok.gov/nursing
https://www.ok.gov/nursing/licensing/app/index.php
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Completion of an advanced unlicensed assistant training program:  You must have 

completed an advanced unlicensed assistant training program approved by the Oklahoma Board 

of Nursing, or have completed equivalent training as approved by Board staff.  A Training 

Program Verification Statement must be submitted to the Board from the director of the training 

program. 

 

Completion of the certification examination:  Once all other requirements for certification 

have been met, you will be made eligible to take the written and skills portions of the AUA 

certification examination.  A registration form for the AUA certification examination will be 

mailed to you from the Board office, along with a list of approved testing sites.  You may call to 

make an appointment to test at any approved testing site.  You must take the completed 

registration form with you when you go in to take the examination.   
 

Review of criminal charges, disciplinary action, or judicial declaration of incompetence: 
Effective January 1, 2013, state law (59 O.S. § 567.18.B.) requires each applicant for 

certification to have a fingerprint-based background check not more than ninety (90) days old 

from the time of submission of the application for certification.  The background check consists 

of fingerprint-based searches of the Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation (OSBI) and Federal 

Bureau of Investigation (FBI) Criminal History Record Information databases and name index 

searches of computerized databases containing criminal history records.  Please see the 

“Instructions” section for further information on obtaining a fingerprint-based background check. 

 

In addition to the background check, applicants for AUA certification who have ever been 

summoned, arrested, taken into custody, indicted, convicted or tried for, or charged with, or 

pleaded guilty to, the violation of any law or ordinance or the commission of any misdemeanor 

or felony, or requested to appear before any prosecuting attorney or investigative agency in any 

matter; or have ever had disciplinary action taken against a nursing license, certification or 

registration, any professional or occupational license, registration, or certification and/or any 

application for a nursing or professional or occupational license, registration, or certification or if 

there is currently any investigation of your nursing license, registration, or certification; and/or 

any professional or occupational license, registration, or certification; and/or any application for 

a nursing and/or professional or occupational license, registration, or certification in any state, 

territory or country, or have ever been judicially declared incompetent are required to notify the 

Oklahoma Board of Nursing in writing.  A “report in writing” means that the applicant/licensee 

provided a signed and dated description stating in his/her own words the date, location, and 

circumstances of the incident, and if applicable, the resulting action taken by the court, agency, 

or disciplinary board.  The report may be in the form of a letter or a statement in the provided 

space on the application.  The report must be accompanied by certified court records or a board 

order.  A verbal report does not constitute a “report in writing”.  A written report not 

accompanied by a full set of certified court records or the board order(s) does not constitute a 

“report in writing”.  Failure to report such action is a violation of the Oklahoma Nursing Practice 

Act. 

 

An applicant for AUA certification must submit to the Oklahoma Board of Nursing “certified 

written evidence that the applicant has never been convicted in this state, the United States or 

another state of any felony, unless five (5) years have elapsed since the date of the criminal 

conviction or the termination of any probation or other requirements imposed on the applicant by 

the sentencing court, whichever shall last occur, or a presidential or gubernatorial pardon for the 

criminal offense has been received” [59 O.S. §567.5].  Therefore, applicants for AUA 
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certification in Oklahoma with one or more felony convictions cannot apply for AUA 

certification for at least five years after completion of all sentencing terms, including 

probation and suspended sentences, unless a presidential or gubernatorial pardon is 

received.     
 

INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETION OF THE APPLICATION 
 

1. Completion of application:  The application should be completed and submitted online 

on the Board’s website:  https://www.ok.gov/nursing/licensing/app/index.php.   

You must complete all modules of the application with your full legal name which is  

the name on your birth certificate and any subsequent legal name changes.  Please  

indicate “NMN” if you do not have a middle name.  You must provide a Social  

Security number on the application.  This information is mandatory, pursuant to 56  

O.S. § 240.21A, for administration of the tax laws of the State of Oklahoma.   

 

If you are submitting a hard copy application, you may NOT use correction fluid on 

the application.  When you are finished entering your information, sign the 

application LEGIBLY, using your full legal name.   

 

The Board’s newsletters are now provided by electronic mail, so it is recommended 

you provide an e-mail address on the application. 

 

2. Citizenship:  All applicants for certification must complete the appropriate Evidence of 

Status form.   

 

If you are a U.S. citizen, U.S. national, or legal permanent resident alien, you must 

submit a photocopy of one of the documents listed under “Acceptable Documents to 

Establish Evidence of Citizenship” on the Evidence of Status form Part A.  A certificate 

will not be issued until the appropriate documentation is submitted. 

 

According to State law, if you are a qualified alien, you must bring in person the 

Evidence of Status form to the Board office along with the original documents that 

support your qualified alien status, as shown on the Evidence of Status Part B form.  At 

the Board office, a staff member will copy your qualified alien status documentation and 

will notarize the Evidence of Status form.          

 

3. Background Check: Each applicant must provide fingerprint images to be used for the 

purpose of permitting a state and national criminal history records search through the 

OSBI and FBI.  The criminal history records search must be conducted through the 

Board’s vendor, L-1 (MorphoTrust) no more than ninety (90) days prior to receipt of the 

application in the Board office.  The results of the search are provided directly to the 

Board office by the Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation (OSBI) usually within one to 

two weeks.  Procedures for changing, correcting or updating OSBI and / or FBI results 

are set forth in Title 28, C.F.R., §16.34 and will be furnished as needed. 

There are two options for obtaining the fingerprints:         

 Option 1:  If you have an Oklahoma mailing address, you will need to go to an 

IdentoGo center sponsored by L-1 (MorphoTrust) located within the state to 

provide fingerprints electronically. These sites are available by appointment only. 

https://www.ok.gov/nursing/licensing/app/index.php
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You must visit the following website to schedule an appointment: 

www.identogo.com, or you must call (877) 219-0197 to make an appointment. 

Payment can be made during your appointment or online when scheduling.  

Please note that your fingerprints must be obtained electronically only at an 

IdentoGO (L-1/ MorphoTrust) site.     

 

   Option 2:  If you have an out-of-state mailing address, Board staff will mail 

you specific fingerprint cards that you must take to a local law enforcement 

agency to obtain the fingerprints.  An addressed envelope will be provided as the 

fingerprint cards must be mailed by the law enforcement agency directly to L-

1 (MorphoTrust). You are responsible for the postage and the costs associated 

with obtaining your fingerprints.  Please note that you must wait to receive the 

specific coded fingerprint cards from the Board office prior to obtaining 

your fingerprints.       OR   If you prefer to access an L1 location within the 

State of Oklahoma, you may follow the instructions above for in-state applicants 

 

4. Criminal Charges, Disciplinary Action, or Judicial Declaration of Mental 

Incompetence:  If you answer “yes” to the criminal charge, discipline, or competency 

questions on the application, you must submit a statement on the application form, 

describing the date, location and circumstances of the incident, and the resulting 

action taken by the court or disciplinary board.  If you have more than one incident 

you are reporting, you must speak to every case/charge that has been filed.  If you have 

reported a history of being summoned, arrested, taken into custody, indicted, convicted or 

tried for, or charged with, or pleaded guilty to, the violation of any law or ordinance or 

the commission of any misdemeanor or felony, or being  requested to appear before any 

prosecuting attorney or investigative agency in any matter, you must submit certified 

copies of the Information Sheet (brief summary of the incident prepared by the court), 

Affidavit of Probable Cause, Charges (listing of the charges brought against you), 

Judgment and Sentencing (findings of the court and sentence imposed), and 

verification that sentencing requirements are complete.  Certified copies are copies of 

court records obtained from the courthouse in the county/city where the action occurred, 

dated and signed by the court clerk, and affixed with the court seal.  You may obtain 

these documents from the courthouse in the county/city or in the federal court of the 

district in which the court action occurred. If no records are found, have the agency 

provide a certified letter stating no records were found in a search from the date of 

offense through current.   Internet court documents (such as OCIS case reports) and 

faxed records will not be accepted.  Please note that you must report all arrests 

and/or charges that have been brought against you.     

 

If you have reported a history of disciplinary action taken against a nursing license, 

certification or registration, any professional or occupational license, registration, or 

certification and/or any application for a nursing or professional or occupational license, 

registration, or certification or if there is currently any investigation of your nursing 

license, registration, or certification; and/or any professional or occupational license, 

registration, or certification; and/or any application for a nursing and/or professional or 

occupational license, registration, or certification in any state, territory or country, please 

request that a certified copy of the Board order be submitted directly to the Board office 

http://www.identogo.com/
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from the licensing agency.  If you have reported a history of judicial declaration of 

mental incompetence, please contact the Board office for further instructions.  

It is recommended you submit this material 2 to 4 months prior to graduation. 
 

5. Fee: Payment can be made in the form of VISA, MasterCard or electronic fund transfer 

when completing the application online in the License Registration link.   

 If a hard copy application is submitted, attach to your application a money order, certified 

check or cashier’s check in the amount of $20.00 payable to the Oklahoma Board of 

Nursing.   Personal checks will not be accepted.  If the fee is not submitted with the 

application or if the fee is incorrect, the application will be immediately returned without 

review.  Submit the application and fee to the Oklahoma Board of Nursing.   

 

TRAINING PROGRAM VERIFICATION STATEMENT 
 

A Training Program Verification Statement should be submitted from your program after you 

have graduated.  This form must be completed by the AUA training program, signed by the 

program director and notarized. 

 

TAKING THE AUA EXAMINATION 
 

After your application has been reviewed and approved, you will receive a registration form 

from the Board.  When you have completed this form and attached the registration fee, you can 

call to make an appointment to take the written and skills examination at an approved testing 

center.  After your testing is completed, the testing center will submit the registration form and 

your fee to the testing service with your examinations.  The testing service will grade your 

examination and provide the results to the Oklahoma Board of Nursing, who will notify you of 

the results and provide a certification card.  Until you are certified, you cannot work in the 

position of an Advanced Unlicensed Assistant.    

 

GENERAL INFORMATION 
 

You are required to notify the Board in writing of any address changes occurring during the 

registration and testing process.  This notification must be signed and submitted in person, by 

mail, or by facsimile. 

 

Your application to the Board is valid for one year after receipt.  After that time, a new 

application and fee must be submitted.  If you take and fail either part of the examination, a 

rewrite application and fee must be submitted.  Applications are processed in the order they are 

received. You may view average processing times of a completed application on our website in 

the Agency Data / Statistics / Quarterly Statistics link.   Repeated telephone calls to check on the 

status of your application will delay, rather than facilitate, the processing of your application.   

 

AUA certificates expire the last day of the certificant’s birth month in odd-numbered years 

following the date of issuance. The application fee includes the processing of your application 

and certification through the current renewal period.  Fees are not pro-rated and are non-

refundable. 
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In accordance with Oklahoma law (59 O.S. § 567.7 E), the Executive Director shall suspend the 

license or certificate of a person who submits a check, money draft, or similar instrument for 

payment of a fee which is not honored by the financial institution named.  The suspension 

becomes effective ten (10) days following delivery by certified mail of written notice of the 

dishonor and the impending suspension to the person’s address on file.  Upon notification of 

suspension, the person may reinstate the authorization to practice upon payment of the fees and 

any and all costs associated with notice and collection.  The suspension shall be exempt from the 

Administrative Procedures Act.  

 
 

COMMON MISTAKES THAT DELAY PROCESSING 
 

 Failing to submit fingerprint images to be used for the purpose of permitting a state 

and national criminal background search no more than 90 days prior to receipt of 

the application in the Board office 

 

 Leaving application questions incomplete or unanswered, or using correction fluid 

on the application 

 

 Not providing a Social Security number or a full legal name (with the notation 

“NMN” if no middle name) 

 

 Failing to provide license or certificate numbers, if  the applicant holds another 

health-related license or certificate 

 

 Failing to sign and date the application, or signing illegibly 

 

 Failing to submit an Evidence of Status form and supporting documentation 

 

 Failing to request that a Training Program Verification Statement be submitted 

directly by the AUA program, or having a different name on the application than 

the name on the Statement 

 

 Failing to provide a complete description and documentation regarding history of 

criminal charges, disciplinary action, or judicial declaration of incompetence   
 


