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Oklahoma Board of Nursing 

2915 N. Classen Boulevard, Suite 524 

Oklahoma City, OK  73106 

(405) 962-1800 

www.ok.gov/nursing 

 

 

REINSTATEMENT of  

ADVANCED UNLICENSED ASSISTANT CERTIFICATE Instructions 
 

Application fee = $65.00 

 

Use this application if: 

 You have been previously certified as an Advanced Unlicensed Assistant (AUA) in 

Oklahoma; and 

 Your certification is currently lapsed, suspended, voluntarily surrendered, or revoked. 

 

Persons employed as an AUA without a valid Oklahoma certification are notified to cease employment 

immediately until a valid AUA certificate is issued.  Continued employment in a position requiring 

AUA certification without a valid AUA certification will be considered in violation of the provisions 

of the Oklahoma Nursing Practice Act.   

 

PLEASE REVIEW THESE INSTRUCTIONS 

BEFORE COMPLETING THE APPLICATION 

 
APPLICATIONS ARE AVAILABLE FOR SUBMISSION ONLINE THROUGH 

https://www.ok.gov/nursing/licensing/app/index.php.   

A paper copy may be requested by the individual applicant by submitting a written request for such to 

the Board office.  The applicant must include a postage-paid ($1.06 postage cost) 8 ½ x 11 inch return 

envelope for Board staff to return an application. 

 

Forms referenced may be found in the Forms / Applications link on the Board’s website. 
 

REQUIREMENTS for REINSTATING  

your AUA CERTIFICATE 
 

Verification of citizenship status:  State law requires the Board of Nursing to issue a certificate only 

to U.S. citizens, nationals and legal permanent resident aliens; and to qualified alien applicants who 

present, in person, valid documentary evidence of: 

1. A valid, unexpired immigrant  or nonimmigrant visa status for admission into the U.S.; 

2. A pending or approved application for asylum in the U.S.; 

3. Admission into the U.S. in refugee status; 

4. A pending or approved application for temporary protected status in the U.S.; 

5. Approved deferred action status; or 

6. A pending application for adjustment of status to legal permanent residence status or 

conditional resident status. 

Applicants in the above six categories will only be eligible to receive a certificate card that is valid for 

the time period of their authorized stay in the U.S., or if there is no date of end to the time period of 

their authorized stay, for one year.  The certificate card is required to indicate that it is temporary.  The 

information will be verified through the Systematic Alien Verification for Entitlements (SAVE) 

Program, operated by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security.   

http://www.ok.gov/nursing
https://www.ok.gov/nursing/licensing/app/index.php
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Verification of continuing qualifications for practice:  The application for reinstatement must 

include one of the following: 

 verification of employment as an AUA in an acute care setting for a minimum of 12 months 

within the previous 24 months; or 

 verification of successful completion of twelve hours of clinical in service appropriate to the 

AUA role within the previous 24 months; or 

 rewriting the certification examination with a passing score, both the written and core skills 

portions of the exam; or 

 verification of initial certification as an AUA within the 24 months immediately prior to 

reinstatement of AUA certification. 

 

Review of criminal charges, disciplinary action, or judicial declaration of incompetence: 

Applicants for AUA reinstatement/return to active status who have ever been summoned, arrested, 

taken into custody, indicted, convicted or tried for, or charged with, or pleaded guilty to, the violation 

of any law or ordinance or the commission of any misdemeanor or felony, or requested to appear 

before any prosecuting attorney or investigative agency in any matter; or have ever had disciplinary 

action taken against a nursing license, certification or registration, any professional or occupational 

license, registration, or certification and/or any application for a nursing or professional or 

occupational license, registration, or certification or if there is currently any investigation of your 

nursing license, registration, or certification; and/or any professional or occupational license, 

registration, or certification; and/or any application for a nursing and/or professional or occupational 

license, registration, or certification in any state, territory or country, or have ever been judicially 

declared incompetent are required to notify the Oklahoma Board of Nursing if the incident has not 

previously been reported in writing to the Board.  A “report in writing” means that the 

applicant/licensee provided a signed and dated description stating in his/her own words the date, 

location, and circumstances of the incident, and if applicable, the resulting action taken by the court, 

agency, or disciplinary board.  The report may be in the form of a letter or a statement in the provided 

space on the application.  The report must be accompanied by certified court records or a board order.  

A verbal report does not constitute a “report in writing”.  A written report not accompanied by a full 

set of certified court records or the board order(s) does not constitute a “report in writing”.  Failure to 

report such action is a violation of the Oklahoma Nursing Practice Act.   

 

 

INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETION OF THE APPLICATION 
 

1. Completion of application:  The application should be completed and submitted online on the 

Board’s website:  https://www.ok.gov/nursing/licensing/app/index.php.  You must complete all 

sections of the application using your name as it appears on your certification card.   

 If you have had a name change since your certificate has not been in an active status, 

you must submit a Name Change Request Form, fee and the required supporting 

documentation.  You may obtain the Name Change Request form on the Board’s 

website, by clicking on the link to “Forms/Applications” or at this link: 

http://www.ok.gov/nursing/namechange.pdf   

 

You must provide a Social Security number on the application.  This information is 

mandatory, pursuant to 56 O.S. § 240.21A. 

 

If submitting a hard copy application, you may NOT use correction fluid on the 

application.  When you are finished entering your information, sign the application LEGIBLY, 

using your full legal name. 

https://www.ok.gov/nursing/licensing/app/index.php
http://www.ok.gov/nursing/namechange.pdf
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Fee:  Payment can be made in the form of VISA, MasterCard or electronic fund transfer when 

completing the application online in the License Registration link.   

 If a hard copy application is submitted, attach to your application to the Board office the 

appropriate fee payable by cashiers check, money order, or personal check.  If the fee is not 

submitted with the application or if the fee is incorrect, the application will be immediately 

returned without review.  Fees submitted are not refundable 

 

2. Citizenship:   

 

a. U.S. Citizens, U.S. Nationals, and Legal Permanent Resident Aliens: If your 

certificate lapsed on or before November 1, 2007, you must complete an Evidence of 

Status form Part A.  If you are a U.S. citizen, U.S. national, or legal permanent resident 

alien, you must submit a photocopy of one of the documents listed under “Acceptable 

Documents to Establish Evidence of Citizenship” on the Evidence of Status form.  A 

certificate will not be issued until the appropriate documentation is submitted. 

 

If your certificate lapsed after November 1, 2007, you are not required to submit an 

Evidence of Status form; however, all certificate holders who are U.S. citizens, U.S. 

nationals, or legal permanent resident aliens are required to submit an Affidavit of 

Citizenship Status.  If you have not submitted an Affidavit of Citizenship Status 

previously, you must submit one.    

 

b. Qualified aliens:  If you are a qualified alien, you must personally bring your Evidence 

of Status Part B form to the Oklahoma Board of Nursing office, along with the original 

documents that support your qualified alien status, as shown on the Evidence of Status 

Part B form.  At the Board office, a staff member will copy your qualified alien status 

documentation and will notarize the Evidence of Status form.  If the application is 

mailed to the Board office, the application will not be processed until the applicant 

presents in person the original documentation of alien resident status.   

 

3. Criminal Charges, Disciplinary Action, or Judicial Declaration of Mental Incompetence:  

If you answer “yes” to the criminal charges, discipline, or competency questions on the 

application, you must submit a statement on the application form, describing the date, location 

and circumstances of the incident, and the resulting action taken by the court or disciplinary 

board.  If you have more than one incident you are reporting, you must speak to every 

case/charge that has been filed.  If you have reported a history of being summoned, arrested, 

taken into custody, indicted, convicted or tried for, or charged with, or pleaded guilty to, the 

violation of any law or ordinance or the commission of any misdemeanor or felony, or being  

requested to appear before any prosecuting attorney or investigative agency in any matter, you 

must submit certified copies of the Information Sheet (brief summary of the incident 

prepared by the court), Affidavit of Probable Cause, Charges (listing of the charges brought 

against you), Judgment and Sentencing (findings of the court and sentence imposed), and 

verification that sentencing requirements are complete.  Certified copies are copies of court 

records obtained from the courthouse in the county/state where the action occurred, dated and 

signed by the court clerk, and affixed with the court seal.  You may obtain these documents 

from the courthouse in the county/city or in the federal court of the district in which the court 

action occurred. If no records are found, have the agency provide a certified letter stating no 

records were found in a search from the date of offense through current.   Internet court 

documents (such as OCIS case reports) and faxed records will not be accepted.  Please 

note that you must report all arrests and/or charges that have been brought against you.     
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If you have reported a history of disciplinary action taken against a nursing license, 

certification or registration, any professional or occupational license, registration, or 

certification and/or any application for a nursing or professional or occupational license, 

registration, or certification or if there is currently any investigation of your nursing license, 

registration, or certification; and/or any professional or occupational license, registration, or 

certification; and/or any application for a nursing and/or professional or occupational license, 

registration, or certification in any state, territory or country, please request that a certified copy 

of the Board order be submitted directly to the Board office from the licensing agency.  If you 

have reported a history of judicial declaration of mental incompetence, please contact the Board 

office for further instructions 

 

4. Verification of continuing qualifications for practice:  In order to reinstate your AUA 

certification, one of the following documents must be submitted: 
 

a. an Employment Verification Form verifying employment as an AUA in an acute care 

setting for a minimum of 12 months within the previous 24 months directly to the Board of 

Nursing from the employer; or 

b. documentation verifying successful completion of twelve hours of clinical inservice 

appropriate to the AUA role within the previous 24 months; or 

c. a request for a registration to rewrite the certification examination; or 

d. verification on the application form that initial certification as an AUA was completed 

within the 24 months immediately prior to reinstatement of AUA certification. 

  

GENERAL INFORMATION 
 

You are required to notify the Board in writing of any address changes occurring during the 

registration and testing process.  This notification must be signed and submitted in person, by mail, or 

by facsimile. 

 

Your application to the Board is valid for one year after receipt.  After that time, a new application and 

fee must be submitted.  Applications are processed in the order they are received. You may view 

average processing times of a completed application on the Board’s website in the Agency Data / 

Statistics / Quarterly Statistics link.   Repeated telephone calls to check on the status of your 

application will delay, rather than facilitate, the processing of your application.  Fees submitted are 

not refundable. 

 

In accordance with Oklahoma law (59 O.S. §567.7 (E)) , the Executive Director shall suspend the 

license or certificate of a person who submits a check, money draft, or similar instrument for payment 

of a fee which is not honored by the financial institution named.  The suspension becomes effective ten 

(10) days following delivery by certified mail of written notice of the dishonor and the impending 

suspension to the person’s address on file.  Upon notification of suspension, the person may reinstate 

the authorization to practice upon payment of the fees and any and all costs associated with notice and 

collection.  The suspension shall be exempt from the Administrative Procedures Act.  
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COMMON MISTAKES  

THAT DELAY APPLICATION PROCESSING 
 

 

 Leaving application questions incomplete or unanswered on the application 

 

 Not providing a Social Security number 

 

 Failing to provide an Evidence of Status Form or Citizenship Affidavit and accompanying 

documentation as needed 
 

 Failing to request that the employer submit an Employment Verification Form directly to 

the Board office as needed 
 

 Failing to include contact information for your current or most recent employer on the 

application 
 

 Failing to provide a complete description and documentation regarding history of 

criminal charges, disciplinary action, or judicial declaration of incompetence unless it has 

been reported to the Board before.  
 

  

 

 

   


