Oklahoma Board of Nursing
2501 N. Lincoln Boulevard, Suite 207
Oklahoma City, OK 73105
(405) 962-1800
www.nursing.ok.gov

INSTRUCTIONS for LICENSURE
as an ADVANCED PRACTICE REGISTERED NURSE

APPLICATION FEE - $70.00

Per 59 O.S. § 4100.8, if you are active duty military personnel or the spouse of an active duty
military personnel who has received orders or notice for military transfer or honorable
discharge to this state, there is NO fee required to submit this application provided you are
endorsing in your APRN license. Please see the “Military Personnel” section for more
information.

Use this application if:

. you are applying for advanced practice registered nurse licensure in Oklahoma; and

. you have not been licensed previously in Oklahoma in the same advanced practice
role; or if you are applying for an additional advanced practice role (i.e., CNP, CNS,
CNM, or CRNA); or if you are applying for an additional specialty area.

PLEASE READ THESE INSTRUCTIONS CAREFULLY
BEFORE COMPLETING THE APPLICATION.

APPLICATIONS ARE AVAILABLE FOR SUBMISSION ONLINE THROUGH
https://www.ok.gov/nursing/licensing/app/index.php.

A paper copy may be requested by the individual applicant by submitting a written request for
such to the Board office. The applicant must include a postage-paid ($1.06 postage cost) 8 %2 x
11 inch return envelope for Board staff to return an application.

Forms referenced may be found in the Forms / Applications link on the Board’s website.

There are four roles of Advanced Practice Registered Nurses defined in the Oklahoma Nursing
Practice Act: the Certified Nurse Practitioner (CNP), Certified Nurse Midwife (CNM), Clinical
Nurse Specialist (CNS), and the Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist (CRNA).

In order to obtain an Advanced Practice Registered Nurse (APRN) license in Oklahoma, the
applicant must hold one of the following licenses:
1 A current Oklahoma license to practice as an Registered Nurse (RN); or

[1 A dated temporary Oklahoma RN license; or

) A current multistate license to practice as an RN issued by another Compact state with
Oklahoma multistate licensure privilege.
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The nurse must obtain Oklahoma licensure as an APRN prior to employment in Oklahoma in a
role that requires licensure as an APRN or identifying oneself as an APRN.

e Applications for RN licensure by endorsement and reinstatement are available on the
Board’s website for those who do not currently hold an active Oklahoma RN license, a
dated temporary Oklahoma RN license, or a current multistate license to practice as an
RN issued by another Compact state with Oklahoma multistate licensure privilege. The
APRN must hold a separate license in each specialty area for which he/she has obtained
the required education and certification.

Only those persons who hold a license to practice advanced practice registered nursing in this
state shall have the right to use the title “Advanced Practice Registered Nurse” and to use the
abbreviation “APRN”. Only those persons who have obtained a license in the following
disciplines shall have the right to fulfill the roles and use the applicable titles: Certified
Registered Nurse Anesthetist and the abbreviation “CRNA”, Certified Nurse-Midwife and the
abbreviation “CNM”, Clinical Nurse Specialist and the abbreviation “CNS”, and Certified Nurse
Practitioner and the abbreviation “CNP”. It shall be unlawful for any person to assume the role
or use the title Advanced Practice Registered Nurse or use the abbreviation "APRN" or use the
respective specialty role titles and abbreviations or to use any other titles or abbreviations that
would reasonably lead a person to believe the user is an Advanced Practice Registered Nurse,
unless permitted by this act. Any individual doing so shall be guilty of a misdemeanor, which
shall be punishable, upon conviction, by imprisonment in the county jail for not more than one
(1) year or by a fine of not less than One Hundred Dollars ($100.00) nor more than One
Thousand Dollars ($1,000.00), or by both such imprisonment and fine for each offense [59 O.S.
§ 567.3a(5)].

REQUIREMENTS for APRN LICENSURE in OKLAHOMA

Educational Requirements: To be eligible for initial licensure or licensure by endorsement, an
applicant must have completed an accredited graduate level advanced practice registered nursing
education program in one of the four advanced practice registered nurse roles (CNP, CNM, CNS,
and CRNA) and in at least one of the following population foci: family/individual across the
lifespan, adult-gerontology, neonatal, pediatrics, women’s health/gender-related, or
psychiatric/mental health as follows:

o An applicant for licensure as a Clinical Nurse Specialist must have completed an
education program that prepares Clinical Nurse Specialists in a graduate-level advanced
practice education program accredited by or holding preliminary approval or candidacy
status with the Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing (ACEN), the
Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE) or the Commission for Nursing
Education Accreditation (CNEA).

o An applicant for licensure as a Certified Nurse Midwife must hold a graduate-level
degree from an advanced practice education program accredited by the Accreditation
Commission for Midwifery Education.

o An applicant for licensure as a Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist must hold a
graduate-level degree from a program preparing the graduate for certification as a nurse
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anesthetist accredited by the American Association of Nurse Anesthetists’ Council on
Accreditation of Nurse Anesthesia Educational Programs.

o An applicant for licensure as a Certified Nurse Practitioner must hold a graduate-level
degree from an advanced practice education program accredited by or holding
preliminary approval or candidacy status with the Accreditation Commission for
Education in Nursing (ACEN), the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education
(CCNE), or the Commission for Nursing Education Accreditation (CNEA).

Certification in Area of Specialty: The applicant must also hold a current national
certification in the specialty area consistent with educational preparation and by a national
certifying body recognized by the Board. Successful completion of the educational program shall
establish an academic preparation consistent with the recognized certification examination in the
specialty area.

[ If you are applying for initial APRN licensure, you must access the list of APRN Certification
Examinations Approved by the Oklahoma Board of Nursing at www.nursing.ok.gov/prac-
natlcert.pdf to ensure your certification is listed.

(1 If you are applying for endorsement of your APRN license, in addition to certifications found
in the above list, if you are actively licensed with a certification listed in the APRN Certification
Examinations No Longer Approved by the Oklahoma Board of Nursing list, you may apply with
that certification.

Endorsement of the APRN license from another state: An applicant who is currently licensed
or recognized as an APRN in another U.S. state or territory may be issued an APRN license by
endorsement if current Board requirements for licensure as an APRN are met. The applicant
must have met all requirements of the advanced practice certifying body to maintain full
certification, including requirements for maintaining continuing competence. An applicant for
APRN licensure by endorsement who holds certification on provisional or conditional status may
be considered for licensure by the Board.

In addition to meeting other requirements for endorsement established by the Board in the Rules,
the applicant for endorsement of the APRN license must demonstrate continued qualifications
for practice through completion of one or more of the following requirements within the last two
(2) years prior to receipt of a completed application in the Board office:

(A)  Submission of an official transcript or certificate of completion verifying completion of
an APRN nursing refresher course meeting the requirements established by the Board in
policy;

(B)  Submission of an official transcript verifying successful completion of at least six (6)
academic semester credit hours of APRN nursing courses in the same role and population
focus as was previously held by the APRN in a graduate-level APRN program, which
includes classroom and clinical instruction;

(C)  Present evidence of current licensure or recognition as an APRN in another state or
territory with employment in a position that requires APRN licensure or recognition with
verification of at least 520 work hours during the past two (2) years preceding receipt of
the application for endorsement in the Board office; and/or;
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(D)  Submission of evidence of current national certification consistent with educational
preparation and by a national certifying body recognized by the Board.

Renewal Requirements: Advanced practice licensure must be renewed concurrently with the
Oklahoma Registered Nurse renewal in even-numbered years. If the Registered Nurse license is
a multistate license issued by another Compact state, the Oklahoma APRN license must be
renewed on even years by the end of the licensee’s birth month.

1 If you are applying for advanced practice licensure within 90 days prior to the expiration date
of your Oklahoma RN license, you must renew your license prior to the date the advanced
practice licensure is granted. Please see the Oklahoma Nursing Practice Act and Rules for
renewal requirements.

Review of criminal charges, disciplinary action, or judicial declaration of incompetence:
Effective November 1, 2013, state law (59 O.S. § 567.5 B 2.) requires each applicant for
licensure as an Advanced Practice Registered Nurse to have a fingerprint-based background
check not more than ninety (90) days old prior to submission of the application for licensure.
The background check consists of fingerprint-based searches of the Oklahoma State Bureau of
Investigation (OSBI) and Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) Criminal History Record
Information databases and name index searches of computerized databases containing criminal
history records. Please read the Privacy Act Statement and Applicant Notification found in the
Appendix to this set of instructions. Please see the “Instructions” section for further information
on obtaining a fingerprint-based background check.

In addition to the background check, applicants for advanced practice licensure who have ever
been summoned, arrested, taken into custody, indicted, convicted or tried for, or charged with, or
pleaded guilty to, the violation of any law or ordinance or the commission of any misdemeanor
or felony, or requested to appear before any prosecuting attorney or investigative agency in any
matter; or have ever had disciplinary action taken against a nursing license, certification or
registration, any professional or occupational license, registration, or certification and/or any
application for a nursing or professional or occupational license, registration, or certification or if
there is currently any investigation of your nursing license, registration, or certification; and/or
any professional or occupational license, registration, or certification; and/or any application for
a nursing and/or professional or occupational license, registration, or certification in any state,
territory or country, or have ever been judicially declared incompetent are required to notify the
Oklahoma Board of Nursing if the incident has not previously been reported in writing to the
Board. A “report in writing” means that the applicant/licensee provided a signed and dated
description stating in his/her own words the date, location, and circumstances of the incident, and
if applicable, the resulting action taken by the court, agency, or disciplinary board. The report
may be in the form of a letter or a statement in the provided space on the application. The report
must be accompanied by certified court records or a board order. A verbal report does not
constitute a “report in writing”. A written report not accompanied by a full set of certified court
records or the board order(s) does not constitute a “report in writing”. Failure to report such
action is a violation of the Oklahoma Nursing Practice Act.

Citizenship: All applicants for licensure who are a U.S. citizen, U.S. national or Legal
Permanent Resident Alien.must complete an Affidavit of Citizenship Status unless such
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information is already on file with this Board.

According to State law, if you are a qualified alien, you must bring in person the Evidence of
Status Form to the Board office along with the original documents that support your qualified
alien status, as shown on the Evidence of Status Part B Form. At the Board office, a staff
member will copy your qualified alien status documentation and will notarize the Evidence of
Status Form.

Military Personnel:

Per 59 O.S. § 4100.8, if you are an active duty military personnel or the spouse of an active duty
military personnel who has received orders or notice for military transfer or honorable discharge
to this state, please provide to the Board’s office a copy of the United States Uniformed Services
Identification and Privilege Card and a copy of the military member’s Permanent Change of
Station (PCS) orders. No application fee is required. Following confirmation that you hold a
valid license in another state that is in good standing and reasonably equivalent to the
requirements of this state, a temporary license will be granted within 30 days.

INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETION OF THE APPLICATION

1. Completion of application: The application should be completed and submitted online on
the Board’s website: https://www.ok.gov/nursing/licensing/app/index.php.
You must complete all sections of the application using your name as it appears on
your license.

You must provide a Social Security number on the application. This information is
mandatory, pursuant to 56 O.S. § 240.21A.

If submitting a hard copy application, you may NOT use correction fluid on the
application. When you are finished entering your information, sign the application
LEGIBLY, using your full legal name.

2. Review of licensure status: Before your advanced practice licensure can be processed,
you must have a current Oklahoma RN license, a dated temporary Oklahoma license, or a
current multistate RN license issued by another Compact state with Oklahoma multistate
licensure privilege. If your Oklahoma RN license is not in an active status and you do not
have a current multistate RN license issued by another Compact state, you must complete
an Application for Return to Active/Reinstatement for your RN license. If you have never
been licensed as a RN in Oklahoma and Oklahoma is now your primary state of
residence, please complete the Application for Licensure by Endorsement.

3. Background Check: Each applicant must provide fingerprint images to be used for the
purpose of permitting a state and national criminal history records search through the
OSBI and FBI. The criminal history records search must be conducted through the
Board’s vendor, L-1 (MorphoTrust / IdentoGO) no more than (90) days prior to receipt of
the application in the Board office. The results of the search are provided directly to the
Board office by the OSBI usually within one to two weeks. Please read the Privacy Act
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Statement and Applicant Notification found in the Appendix to this set of instructions.
Procedures for changing, correcting or updating OSBI and / or FBI results are set forth in
Title 28, C.F.R., 816.34 and will be furnished as needed.

Option 1: If you have an Oklahoma mailing address, you will need to go to an
IdentoGo center sponsored by L-1 (MorphoTrust / IdentoGO) located within the
state to provide fingerprints electronically. These sites are available by
appointment only. You must visit the following website to schedule an
appointment: www.identogo.com, or you must call (877) 219-0197 to make an
appointment. Payment can be made during your appointment or online when
scheduling. Please note that your fingerprints must be obtained electronically
only at an IdentoGO (L-1/ MorphoTrust) site.

Option 2: If you have an out-of-state mailing address, Board staff will mail
you specific fingerprint cards that you must take to a local law enforcement
agency to obtain the fingerprints. Please note that you must wait to receive the
specific coded fingerprint cards from the Board office prior to obtaining
your fingerprints. An addressed envelope will be provided as the fingerprint
cards must be mailed by the law enforcement agency directly to L-1
(MorphoTrust / IdentoGO). You are responsible for the postage and the costs
associated with obtaining your fingerprints. OR If you are in Oklahoma, you
may follow the instructions for Option 1 above.

4. Criminal Charges, Disciplinary Action, or Judicial Declaration of Mental
Incompetence: If you answer “yes” to the criminal charge, discipline, or competency
questions on the application, you must submit a statement on the application form,
describing the date, location and circumstances of the incident, and the resulting
action taken by the court or disciplinary board. If you have more than one incident
you are reporting, you must speak to every case/charge that has been filed. If you have
reported a history of being summoned, arrested, taken into custody, indicted, convicted or
tried for, or charged with, or pleaded guilty to, the violation of any law or ordinance or
the commission of any misdemeanor or felony, or being requested to appear before any
prosecuting attorney or investigative agency in any matter, you must submit certified
copies of the:

o Information Sheet (brief summary of the incident prepared by the court)

o Affidavit of Probable Cause, Charges (listing of the charges brought against
you)

o Judgment and Sentencing (findings of the court and sentence imposed)

o Verification that sentencing requirements are complete.

Certified copies are copies of court records obtained from the courthouse in the county/city
where the action occurred, dated and signed by the court clerk, and affixed with the court seal.
You may obtain these documents from the courthouse in the county/city or in the federal court
of the district in which the court action occurred. Internet court documents (such as OCIS
case reports) and faxed records will not be accepted. Please note that you must report all
arrests and/or charges that have been brought against you.
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If you have reported a history of disciplinary action taken against a nursing license,
certification or registration, any professional or occupational license, registration, or
certification and/or any application for a nursing or professional or occupational license,
registration, or certification or if there is currently any investigation of your nursing
license, registration, or certification; and/or any professional or occupational license,
registration, or certification; and/or any application for a nursing and/or professional or
occupational license, registration, or certification in any state, territory or country, please
request that a certified copy of the Board order be submitted directly to the Board office.
If you have reported a history of judicial declaration of mental incompetence, please
contact the Board office for further instructions.

5. Transcript: An official transcript should be submitted from your advanced practice
educational program verifying the degree conferred, date of conferral, advanced practice
role and specialty. Transcripts that have been issued to the student will not be
accepted.

The Oklahoma Board of Nursing must evaluate the curriculum provided in the out-of-
state advanced practice program to ensure that it meets the state’s curricular
requirements. If you completed an advanced practice program in another state, you may
be requested to submit further information to verify that the program meets the
requirements of the Oklahoma Board of Nursing.

6. Certification by a National Certifying Body: Current national certification at an
advanced practice level in the specialty area consistent with the advanced practice
educational program you completed and recognized by the Board is required to receive
advanced practice licensure.

e If you are applying for initial APRN licensure, you must access the list of APRN
Certification Examinations Approved by the Oklahoma Board of Nursing at
www.nursing.ok.gov/prac-natlcert.pdf to ensure your certification is listed.

e If you are applying for endorsement of your APRN license, in addition to certifications
found in the above list, if you are actively licensed with a certification listed in the APRN
Certification Examinations No Longer Approved by the Oklahoma Board of Nursing list
(also found at www.nursing.ok.gov/prac-natlcert.pdf), you may apply with that
certification.

o Only one certification may be selected per application. Verification of your
current certification must be received directly from the national certifying
body. Board staff can usually verify current national certification directly on the
website of the American Association of Nurse Anesthetists, the American
Midwifery Certification Board and National Certification Corporation. For all
other certifying bodies, the APRN must request that verification of the
certification be provided directly to the Oklahoma Board of Nursing. In some
cases, the certifying body will charge a fee for the certification. If so, the
applicant for licensure as an APRN is responsible for paying the required fee to
the certifying body.
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In order to change or add an area of specialty and national certification, you must meet
initial requirements for licensure as an Advanced Practice Registered Nurse, which
requires submission of a new application. In addition, the Board must be notified in
writing of changes of national certification within the same specialty area within 30 days
of the change.

7. Fee: You may pay the application fee online, using a VISA, a MasterCard or an
electronic fund transfer when completing the application. Fees submitted are not
refundable. If you submit a hard copy application, attach to your application the
appropriate fee payable by cashier’s check, money order, or personal check. If you do not
submit the fee with the application or if the fee is incorrect, the application will be
immediately returned without review. If you meet either military personnel options listed
in the Military Personnel section above, a fee is not required

8. Requirements for continuing qualifications for practice for applicants for APRN
licensure by endorsement: If you hold recognition as an APRN in a state or territory,
please request that one of the following documents be submitted to verify continuing
qualifications for APRN practice, completed within the last two (2) years prior to receipt
of a completed application in the Board office:

(A) An official transcript or certificate of completion, received directly from the
educational program, verifying completion of an APRN nursing refresher course meeting
the requirements established by the Board in policy;

(B) An official transcript, received directly from the educational program, verifying
successful completion of at least six (6) academic semester credit hours of APRN nursing
courses in the same role and population focus as was previously held by the APRN in a
graduate-level APRN program, which includes classroom and clinical instruction;

(C) An Employment Verification Form, received directly from the employer, verifying
employment in a position that requires APRN licensure or recognition with verification
of at least 520 work hours during the past two (2) years preceding receipt of the
application for endorsement in the Board office. The Employment Verification Form may
be obtained from the Board’s website in the Forms / Applications link; or,

(D) Evidence of current national certification consistent with educational preparation
from a national certifying body recognized by the Board.

9. Temporary license: To request a temporary APRN license which is valid for 90 days,
contact the APRN department (405-962-1802) to request the temporary license form be
sent to you. If submitting a hard copy application, check “Y” on the first page of the
Application for Advanced Practice Registered Nurse Licensure.

Requirements for a temporary APRN license include:

o Current unrestricted licensure as an RN in Oklahoma;

o Current unrestricted APRN licensure or recognition in another state or territory in
the same role with no history of arrest or disciplinary action requiring further
review;

o Demonstrating meeting of continuing qualifications for practice;

o Evidence of completing an APRN nursing education program in one of the four
roles and a specialty area recognized by the Board;
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o Evidence of current national certification consistent with educational preparation
and by a national certifying body recognized by the Board,

o Completed application for endorsement and temporary recognition and the
required fees;

o Submission of fingerprints for the purpose of permitting state and national
criminal history records search

10.  Verification of citizenship status: State law requires the Board of Nursing to issue a
license only to U.S. citizens, nationals and legal permanent resident aliens; and to
qualified alien applicants who present, in person, valid documentary evidence of:

A valid, unexpired immigrant or nonimmigrant visa status for admission into the U.S.;

A pending or approved application for asylum in the U.S.;

Admission into the U.S. in refugee status;

A pending or approved application for temporary protected status in the U.S.;

Approved deferred action status; or

A pending application for adjustment of status to legal permanent residence status or

conditional resident status.

ogakrwdE

Applicants in the above six categories will only be eligible to receive a license card that is
valid for the time period of their authorized stay in the U.S., or if there is no date of end to
the time period of their authorized stay, for one year. The license card is required to
indicate that it is temporary. The information will be verified through the Systematic Alien
Verification for Entitlements (SAVE) Program, operated by the U.S. Department of
Homeland Security.

GENERAL INFORMATION

Your application to the Board is valid for one year after receipt. After that time, a new
application and fee must be submitted. Applications are processed in the order they are received.
You may view average processing times of a completed application on our website in the
Agency Data / Statistics / Quarterly Statistics link. Repeated telephone calls to check on the
status of your application will delay, rather than facilitate, the processing of your application.
Fees submitted are not pro-rated and are not refundable.

If you wish to obtain prescriptive authority as well, please complete the Application for
Prescriptive Authority. The Advanced Practice Registered Nurse must hold prescriptive authority
recognition for each advanced practice license in the State of Oklahoma in order to prescribe
drugs and other medical supplies.

If it is necessary to submit additional information/documents after your application is received,
please attach the form titled “Information to be Added to the Application” to the document (see
attached form). This will help to ensure the document is added to your application file without
delay.

In accordance with Oklahoma law (59 O.S. §567.7 (E)), the Executive Director shall suspend the
license or certificate of a person who submits a check, money draft, or similar instrument for
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payment of a fee which is not honored by the financial institution named. The suspension
becomes effective ten (10) days following delivery by certified mail of written notice of the
dishonor and the impending suspension to the person’s address on file. Upon notification of
suspension, the person may reinstate the authorization to practice upon payment of the fees and
any and all costs associated with notice and collection. The suspension shall be exempt from the
Administrative Procedures Act.

Pursuant to Oklahoma law, you must have an active single state Oklahoma RN license or an
active multistate RN license to practice as an APRN in Oklahoma. If you do not have an active
RN license and an active APRN license, you must notify this Board immediately and pursuant to
Oklahoma law, you cannot lawfully practice as an APRN until you hold an active RN and APRN
license.

COMMON MISTAKES THAT DELAY PROCESSING

Common mistakes that delay the processing of your application include failure to:

> Complete a legible application with all questions completed and no correction fluid
used

> Failing to submit fingerprint images to be used for the purpose of permitting a state
and national criminal background search no more than 90 days prior to receipt of
the application in the Board office

Provide a social security number

Provide the full name of licensee

Provide license or certificate numbers

Sign the application with the full legal name, or signing illegibly

YV VYV Vv V V

Confirm the requested exam for licensure is listed on the approved list of
certification exams

> Request that an official transcript be submitted directly to the Board by the
advanced practice educational program

> Request verification of the current advanced practice national certification from the
certifying body

> Provide a complete description and documentation regarding history of criminal
charges, disciplinary action, or judicial declaration of incompetence

> Submit verification of continuing qualifications for practice, if the APRN is licensed
in another state
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Appendix

Privacy Act Statement and Applicant Notification

Authority: The FBI's acquisition, preservation, and exchange of fingerprints and associated
information is generally authorized under 28 U.S.C. 534. Depending on the nature of your
application, supplemental authorities include Federal statutes, State statutes pursuant to
Public Law 92-544, Presidential Executive Orders, and federal regulations. Providing your
fingerprints and associated information is voluntary; however, failure to do so may affect
completion or approval of your application.

Principal Purpose: Certain determinations, such as employment, licensing, and security
clearances, may be predicated on fingerprint-based background checks. Your fingerprints
and associated information/biometrics may be provided to the employing, investigating, or
otherwise responsible agency, and/or the FBI for the purpose of comparing your fingerprints
to other fingerprints in the FBI's Next Generation Identification (NGI) system or its
successor systems (including civil, criminal, and latent fingerprint repositories) or other
available records of the employing, investigating, or other responsible agency. The FBI may
retain your fingerprints and associated information/biometrics in NGI after the completion of
this application and, while retained, your fingerprints may continue to be compared against
other fingerprints submitted to or retained by NGI.

Routine Uses: During the processing of this application and for as long thereafter as your
fingerprints and associated information/biometrics are retained in NGI, your information may
be disclosed pursuant to your consent, and may be disclosed without your consent as
permitted by the Privacy Act of 1974 and all applicable Routine Uses as may be published
at any time in the Federal Register, including the Routine Uses for the NGI system and the
FBI's Blanket Routine Uses. Routine uses include, but are not limited to, disclosures to:
employing, governmental or authorized non-governmental agencies responsible for
employment, contracting, licensing, security clearances, and other suitability
determinations; local, state, tribal, or federal law enforcement agencies; criminal justice
agencies; and agencies responsible for national security or public safety.

Applicant Record Challenge

Applicant Record Challenge: Before a final decision is made, you have the opportunity to
complete or challenge the accuracy of the information contained in the FBI identification
record. The procedure for obtaining a change, correction, or updating an FBI identification
record is set forth in Title 28, CFR 16.34. For information on updating the national criminal
history record, visit www.FBI.gov or https://www.fbi.gov/cjis/identity-history-summary-
checks#challenge-of-an-identity-history-summary.

If certified documents are obtained for the purpose of updating your criminal history record,
the documents should be forwarded to the FBI and to the repository in the state where the
arrest occurred.
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