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Oklahoma Board of Nursing 
2501 N. Lincoln Boulevard, Suite 207 

Oklahoma City, OK  73105 
(405) 962-1800 

www.nursing.ok.gov 
 
 

INSTRUCTIONS for 
REINSTATEMENT or RETURN to ACTIVE STATUS of 

PRESCRIPTIVE AUTHORITY RECOGNITION  
 

Application fee = $80.00  

 
Use this application if: 

 You have previously held prescriptive authority recognition for the same advanced 
practice license in Oklahoma; and 

 Your prescriptive authority recognition is currently lapsed, inactive, suspended, 
voluntarily surrendered, or revoked. 

 
PLEASE READ THESE INSTRUCTIONS CAREFULLY  

BEFORE COMPLETING THE APPLICATION 
 

APPLICATIONS ARE AVAILABLE FOR SUBMISSION ONLINE THROUGH 
https://www.ok.gov/nursing/licensing/app/index.php.   
A paper copy may be requested by the individual applicant by submitting a written request for 
such to the Board office.  The applicant must include a postage-paid ($1.06 postage cost) 8 ½ x 
11 inch return envelope for Board staff to return an application. 
 
Forms referenced may be found in the Forms / Applications link on the Board’s website.   
 
Applications for return to active or reinstatement of prescriptive authority recognition must have 
current Oklahoma licensure as a Registered Nurse and as an Advanced Practice Registered Nurse 
(CNP, CNS, or CNM), and current national certification.   
 
Advanced Practice Registered Nurses (APRNs) without valid prescriptive authority recognition 
are hereby notified to cease prescribing immediately until valid prescriptive authority recognition 
has been obtained.  Please note that prescriptive authority recognition is specific to the 
Advanced Practice Registered Nurse license (CNP, CNS, or CNM) and the specialty 
certification held by the Advanced Practice Registered Nurse.  Advanced Practice 
Registered Nurses with more than one APRN license or specialty certification must hold 
separate prescriptive authority recognitions for each APRN license or specialty 
certification.  Prescribing drugs and medical supplies without a valid prescriptive authority 
recognition is considered in violation of the provisions of the Oklahoma Nursing Practice Act. 
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https://www.ok.gov/nursing/licensing/app/index.php
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You may obtain a copy of the current Exclusionary Formulary on the Board’s website:     
www.nursing.ok.gov.  Click on the link for Practice/Advanced Practice to download a copy. 
 
 

REQUIREMENTS for REINSTATING or RETURNING  
your PRESCRIPTIVE AUTHORITY RECOGNITION  

to ACTIVE STATUS 
 
Verification of current Oklahoma and advanced practice licensure:  You must possess 
current Oklahoma licenses to practice as a Registered Nurse and as an Advanced Practice 
Registered Nurse.  You must hold current certification in your advanced practice specialty area. 
 
Renewal Requirements: Prescriptive authority must be renewed concurrently with your 
Oklahoma Registered Nurse and Advanced Practice Registered Nurse licenses in even-numbered 
years.   

 If you are applying for reinstatement of your prescriptive authority recognition within 90 
days prior to the expiration date of your RN & APRN licenses, you must renew your 
licenses prior to the date the reinstatement of the prescriptive authority recognition is 
granted.  

 
Review of criminal charges, disciplinary action, or judicial declaration of incompetence: 
Applicants for reinstatement/return to active status of prescriptive authority recognition who 
have ever been summoned, arrested, taken into custody, indicted, convicted or tried for, or 
charged with, or pleaded guilty to, the violation of any law or ordinance or the commission of 
any misdemeanor or felony, or requested to appear before any prosecuting attorney or 
investigative agency in any matter; or have ever had disciplinary action taken against a nursing 
license, certification or registration, any professional or occupational license, registration, or 
certification and/or any application for a nursing or professional or occupational license, 
registration, or certification or if there is currently any investigation of your nursing license, 
registration, or certification; and/or any professional or occupational license, registration, or 
certification; and/or any application for a nursing and/or professional or occupational license, 
registration, or certification in any state, territory or country, or have ever been judicially 
declared incompetent are required to notify the Oklahoma Board of Nursing if the incident has 
not previously been reported in writing to the Board.  A “report in writing” means that the 
applicant/licensee provided a signed and dated description stating in his/her own words the date, 
location, and circumstances of the incident, and if applicable, the resulting action taken by the 
court, agency, or disciplinary board.  The report may be in the form of a letter or a statement in 
the provided space on the application.  The report must be accompanied by certified court 
records or a board order.  A verbal report does not constitute a “report in writing”.  A written 
report not accompanied by a full set of certified court records or the board order(s) does not 
constitute a “report in writing”.  Failure to report such action is a violation of the Oklahoma 

Nursing Practice Act.   
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Current Supervising Physician Agreements:   An Agreement for Physician Supervising 

Advanced Practice Prescriptive Authority must be submitted with the application for each 
physician listed on the application. 
 

EXCEPTION for APRN-CNPs, APRN-CNSs, and APRN-CNMs working ONLY at a 
Veterans Affairs facility, please see “Instructions for Completion of the Application”, 
#6A and #6B. 

  
Current Continuing Education in Prescribing:  The Advanced Practice Registered Nurse must 
submit evidence of either:  
   

1. A minimum of fifteen (15) contact hours, or one academic credit hour of education, or  
the equivalent, in pharmacotherapeutics, clinical application and use or pharmacological  
agents in the prevention of illness, and in the restoration and maintenance of health, in a  
program beyond basic registered nurse preparation, approved by the Board within the  
(2) two-year period immediately preceding the date of application for reinstatement of  
prescriptive authority which is applicable to the scope of practice and specialty  
certification.   

 Please see the “Continuing Education Categories” table below   
 

2. Licensure or recognition as an APRN in the same role with prescriptive  authority in  
    another state with employment in a position that requires APRN prescriptive authority  
    licensure or recognition with verification of at least 520 work hours during the past two  
   (2) year period preceding receipt of this application.  

  
Please note that ACLS, PALS, and CPR courses do not meet the requirements for 
advanced practice prescriptive authority.  There are several methods of obtaining educational 
credits.  Acceptable methods for obtaining the required education are defined by category 
and the maximum number of credits accepted for each category is identified in the 
following table: 
 

CONTINUING EDUCATION CATEGORIES 
 

Maximum 
Credits 

CATEGORY A:  Academic Credit:  Evidence of completion of coursework in 
pharmacotherapeutics appropriate for Advanced Practice Registered Nurses. 

Up to 100% 
(1 credit hour) 
 

CATEGORY B:  (i) Onsite seminar, lecture, workshop, or course, approved for contact 
hours, continuing education units, or continuing medical education units by a recognized 
approver of continuing education.  Evidence of attendance at an approved 
pharmacotherapeutic offering appropriate for advanced practice nurses; (ii) Online continuing 
education for initial applications must be approved through a recognized approver of 
continuing education, and includes a minimum of thirty hours obtained from a single provider 
that is faculty-directed, with processes for interaction of the participant with faculty, 
evaluating the participant's learning through successful completion of case studies or written 
assignments and a comprehensive examination using a mechanism to ensure security of the 
evaluation process. . 

Up to 100% 
(15 contact 
hours) 

CATEGORY C:  Online seminars or workshops, or articles in professional journals or other 
professional references approved for contact hours, continuing education units, or continued 
medical education units by a recognized approver of continuing education:  Evidence of 

Up to 100 (15 
contact hours) 



Form RS-14 4                                                  07/31/18 

satisfactory performance on an online seminar, workshop, or article related to 
pharmacotherapeutic continuing education appropriate for Advanced Practice Registered 
Nurses. 
CATEGORY D:  Published article in refereed journal, book, or research project.  Evidence 
of publication of one article related to pharmacotherapy appropriate for Advanced Practice 
Registered Nurses.  These will be evaluated on a case-by-case basis. 

Up to 20% 
(3 contact hours) 

CATEGORY E:  Presenter/Lecturer.  Evidence of providing content related to 
pharmacotherapeutics at an advanced practice level.  The presentation / lecture must be 
approved for contact hours or offered as part of an academic course with a target audience of 
Advanced Practice Registered Nurses. 

Up to 20% 
(3 contact hours) 

 
 Continuing Education Equivalencies 

i. One contact hour    = 50 minutes 
ii. One academic semester hour   = 15 contact hours 
iii. One academic quarter hour   =  12.5 contact hours 

 
Current DEA and OBNDD Registration:  The Advanced Practice Registered Nurse with 
prescriptive authority who prescribes Schedule III-V drugs will comply with state and federal 
Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) and Oklahoma Bureau of Narcotics and Dangerous 
Drug (OBNDD) requirements prior to prescribing controlled substances.  If either the OBNDD 
or the DEA registration lapses or is otherwise in an inactive status, the APRN must immediately 
notify the Oklahoma Board of Nursing and cease prescribing Schedule III-V drugs.   
 
INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETION OF THE APPLICATION 

 
1. Completion of application:  The application should be completed and submitted online on 

the Board’s website:  https://www.ok.gov/nursing/licensing/app/index.php.   
You must complete all sections of the application using your name as it appears on 
your license card.   

 If you have had a name change since your license has not been in an active status, 
you must submit a Name Change Request Form, fee and the required supporting 
documentation.  You may obtain the Name Change Request form on the Board’s 
website, by clicking on the link to “Forms/Applications” or at this link:  
http://www.nursing.ok.gov/namechange.pdf   

 
You must provide a Social Security number on the application.  This information is 
mandatory, pursuant to 56 O.S. § 240.21A. 
 
If submitting a hard copy application, you may NOT use correction fluid on the 
application.  When you are finished entering your information, sign the application 
LEGIBLY, using your full legal name. 
 

 Fee:  Payment can be made in the form of VISA, MasterCard or electronic fund transfer 
when completing the application online in the License Registration link.   
 If a hard copy application is submitted, attach to your application to the Board office 

the appropriate fee payable by cashier’s check, money order, or personal check.  If 

https://www.ok.gov/nursing/licensing/app/index.php
http://www.ok.gov/nursing/namechange.pdf
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the fee is not submitted with the application or if the fee is incorrect, the application 
will be immediately returned without review.  Fees submitted are not refundable 

          
2. Agreements with supervising physicians:  An Agreement for Physician Supervising 

Advanced Practice Prescriptive Authority must be submitted for each supervising 
physician.  

     
A. EXCEPTION for APRN-CNPs, APRN-CNSs, and APRN-CNMs working ONLY at a 

Veterans Affairs facility AND who will NOT be prescribing Controlled Dangerous 
Substances, please note the following: 
 
In 38 C.F.R. § 17.415 which became effective January 13, 2017, the Department of 
Veterans Affairs (VA) were authorized to grant full practice authority to CNPs, CNSs 
and CNMs when they are acting within the scope of their VA employment.  This rule 
established that clinical supervision by physicians is NOT required for full practice 
authority. 
If this exception applies, you must,  
i. Submit written verification that VA has granted full practice authority; and  
ii. Indicate on the application that the exception does apply to you, and the listing of 

a supervising physician(s) name and submission of an Agreement for Physician 

Supervising Advanced Practice Prescriptive Authority form will not be required.   
 

B. The full practice authority is subject to the limitations imposed by the Controlled 
Substances Act, 21 U.S.C. 801 et seq. In accordance with 63 O.S. §2-312(C), should an 
APRN-CNP, APRN-CNS, and/or an APRN-CNM choose to prescribe controlled 
dangerous substances, it becomes the APRN’s responsibility to obtain a supervising 
physician, to submit the required Agreement for Physician Supervising Advanced 

Practice Prescriptive Authority form, and to comply with state and Federal Drug 
Enforcement Administration (DEA) requirements prior to prescribing controlled 
substances. 

 
If your employment situation changes and you become employed at a non-VA facility in 
addition to or instead of a VA facility, or if your full practice authority granted through 
VA is rescinded, it is your responsibility to obtain a supervising physician and to notify 
this Board. 

 
3. Educational Requirements for Reinstatement/Return to Active Status of Prescriptive 

Authority:  Complete the section on educational experience in pharmacology to include 
all education being submitted for evaluation.   

 
a. If choosing the option of completing at least 1 academic credit hour or 15 contact  
 hours of education, you should attach additional pages if needed and submit a  
 photocopy of course content, including the course title, description, and  
 objectives, and verification of your successful completion of educational  
 requirements (such as a certificate of completion or transcript to Board office). 
b.  If you are choosing the option of having have licensure or recognition as an  
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 APRN in the same role with prescriptive authority in another state with  
 employment in a position that requires APRN prescriptive authority licensure or  
 recognition, please provide to this office evidence of current prescriptive authority  
 in another state and have the employer provide directly to this office an  
 Employment Verification Form verifying at least 520 work hours during the past  
 two years 

 
4. Criminal Charges, Disciplinary Action, or Judicial Declaration of Mental 

Incompetence:  If you answer “yes” to the criminal charges, discipline, or competency 
questions on the application, you must submit a statement on the application form, 
describing the date, location and circumstances of the incident, and the resulting action 
taken by the court or disciplinary board.  If you have more than one incident you are 
reporting, you must speak to every case/charge that has been filed.  If you have reported a 
history of being summoned, arrested, taken into custody, indicted, convicted or tried for, 
or charged with, or pleaded guilty to, the violation of any law or ordinance or the 
commission of any misdemeanor or felony, or being  requested to appear before any 
prosecuting attorney or investigative agency in any matter, you must submit certified 
copies of the Information Sheet (brief summary of the incident prepared by the court), 
Affidavit of Probable Cause, Charges (listing of the charges brought against you), 
Judgment and Sentencing (findings of the court and sentence imposed), and verification 
that sentencing requirements are complete.  Certified copies are copies of court records 
obtained from the courthouse in the county/state where the action occurred, dated and 
signed by the court clerk, and affixed with the court seal.  You may obtain these 
documents from the courthouse in the county/city or in the federal court of the district in 
which the court action occurred. If records are not found, have the county agency indicate 
so in a certified letter stating “no records found” from the date of the offense(s) to 
current. Internet court documents (such as OCIS case reports) and faxed records 
will not be accepted.  Please note that you must report all arrests and/or charges 
that have been brought against you.     

 

If you have reported a history of disciplinary action taken against a nursing license, 
certification or registration, any professional or occupational license, registration, or 
certification and/or any application for a nursing or professional or occupational license, 
registration, or certification or if there is currently any investigation of your nursing 
license, registration, or certification; and/or any professional or occupational license, 
registration, or certification; and/or any application for a nursing and/or professional or 
occupational license, registration, or certification in any state, territory or country, please 
request that a certified copy of the Board order be submitted directly to the Board office 
from the licensing agency.  If you have reported a history of judicial declaration of 
mental incompetence, please contact the Board office for further instructions. 
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GENERAL INFORMATION 
 
You are required to notify the Board in writing of any address changes occurring during the 
application process.  This notification must be signed and submitted in person, by mail, or by 
facsimile. 
 
Your application to the Board is valid for one year after receipt. After that time, a new 
application and fee must be submitted. Applications are processed in the order they are received. 
You may view average processing times of a completed application on our website in the 
Agency Data / Statistics / Quarterly Statistics link.   Repeated telephone calls to check on the 
status of your application will delay, rather than facilitate, the processing of your application.  
Fees submitted are not refundable.   
 
If it is necessary to submit additional information/documents after your application is received, 
please attach the form titled “Information to be Added to the Application” to the document (see 
attached form).  If the document is coming directly from another individual or entity, please 
provide the form to that individual or entity.  This will help to ensure the document is added to 
your application file without delay.  
 
In accordance with Oklahoma law (59 O.S. §567.7 (E)) , the Executive Director shall suspend 
the license or certificate of a person who submits a check, money draft, or similar instrument for 
payment of a fee which is not honored by the financial institution named.  The suspension 
becomes effective ten (10) days following delivery by certified mail of written notice of the 
dishonor and the impending suspension to the person’s address on file.  Upon notification of 
suspension, the person may reinstate the authorization to practice upon payment of the fees and 
any and all costs associated with notice and collection.  The suspension shall be exempt from the 
Administrative Procedures Act.  
 

COMMON MISTAKES THAT  
DELAY APPLICATION PROCESSING 

 
Common mistakes that delay the processing of your application include failure to: 
 

 Answer all application questions completely 
 

 Provide a legible application with no correction fluid used 
 

 Provide a Social Security number 
 

 Provide the full name under which you were licensed (with the notation “NMN” if 
there is no middle name) 

 
 Sign the application with the full legal name, or signing illegibly 

 
 Submit required documentation of continuing education  



Form RS-14 8                                                  07/31/18 

 
 Provide a complete description and documentation regarding a history of criminal 

charges, disciplinary action, or judicial declaration of incompetence 
 
  

 


